Rosemary Garlic Pita Breads (So many!)

in #food7 years ago

If I had known how easy it is to make fresh pita bread at home, I would have been making it since I was a toddler.

So, I'm late to the pita game, but I'm here now! Finally, no more schlepping to the store for pita. Sweet pita relief.

dJI6A4259.jpg

The pita bread dough is enriched with a bit of olive oil. Why not use the oil as a vehicle to bring a flavor boost into the pita breads?! I smashed a garlic clove and snipped off a sprig of rosemary from the garden. I tossed these both into a little dish of olive oil and stored it on the kitchen counter over night until it was time to get cooking.

dJI6A4249.jpg

Bust out your stand mixer to make these breads even easier.

Rosemary Garlic Pita Bread

Makes 16 Pita Breads (freeze what you don't eat!)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1 1/2 T yeast
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 T salt
  • 1/4 c garlic and rosemary-infused olive oil

Directions

  • Sprinkle the yeast over the water in the bowl of your stand mixer.
  • Once the yeast begins to bubble, add the flour, salt, and oil and knead with the dough hook attachment for about 5-7 minutes, until the dough forms a smooth ball and clears the sides of the bowl.

dJI6A4250.jpg

  • Let rise, covered with a dish towel for about 2 hours, or until doubled in size.

dJI6A4251.jpg

  • Turn the dough onto the countertop and cut into 16 even pieces.

dJI6A4252.jpg

dJI6A4253.jpg

dJI6A4255.jpg

  • Roll each piece out into a circle about 6-8 inches in diameter.

dJI6A4257.jpg

  • In a skillet over the stove at medium-high heat, carefully rub a bit of olive oil with a paper towel.
  • One at a time, put your pita bread into the skillet, and flip it once bubbles begin to form, about 45 seconds after you put it down.
  • Let it cook on the second side for about 90 seconds until the second side is lightly browned, and then flip it again, allowing the first side to get lightly browned.

dJI6A4258.jpg

  • Repeat with all of the pita breads.
  • Once each bread is done, keep them stacked and wrapped in a dish towel so that they don't lose all their moisture as they cool.
  • Whatever you don't eat can be frozen or stored in a ziplok bag in the refrigerator.

Fresh soft pita bread that carries the flavors of homegrown rosemary and glorious garlic. Yessssss.

dJI6A4260.jpg


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please do check out my blog.


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on August 12, 2017 with a Canon 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

Wow that is an easy recipe. Figured pita would be a bit more difficult. Funny how some breads are so simple. I love english muffins and they ended up being easy to make. Your pitas look great.

I hate schlepping to the store.

Might have to try this, looks yummy!

Oh the dreaded schlep! I schlepped just yesterday but not for pitas, for cheese! Actually, I will willingly schlep for cheese pretty much any day.

I try to only have a schlep in my step once a week if I can help it.

Agreed, when it comes to cheese I might have some pep in my schlep. ;)

Looks great. Garlic I always a good addition in regards to flavor.

Keeps the vampires away too! Win win!

Wow - that's the same recipe I use for pizza dough, just cooked differently. I'm going to try that! But with the infused oil... that sounds wonderful.

Yeah do it! you can halve the recipe too if you want! Go for it!

A must try - I was waiting for your recipe, my lady. It is definitely worth the wait though @jaymorebeet

Great work! Nice pics and good recipe... I Will give It a try..and following you!!
Keep It Up!

Definitely give it a try! Let me know :)

Yum! Can't say I've ever had a fresh, warm pita bread :)) This one looks easy and flavourful (love the infused oil addition)..Great job as usual, @jaymorebeet! <3

Homemade pitas are always so delicious @jaymorebeet! Your recipe looks awesome, will give it a try soon!
The infused oil brings a real beautiful flavor to this lovely bread!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Oh wow, these are wonderful, definitely something should try.....upv & rsd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74