Marshmallow Fondant Aura - Tutorial and Preview on Cupcakes

in #food7 years ago

Working with fondant has always been intimidating to me, but it's just sugar dough. How scary can it be?


I knew I wanted to get the courage to tackle the Fondant Monster, but I didn't want to purchase store-bought fondant. Instead, I decided to make a double batch of fondant and use it to decorate (a) cupcakes and (b) a big birthday cake for a special little one in my life.

dJI6A4853.jpg

I'm preparing a post on the cake and I'll post it in the next few days.

For now, here are some preview chocolate cupcakes with a cream cheese buttercream and rainbow fondant rose tops.


Here is my first fondant experience and how to:

  • make homemade marshmallow fondant
  • use natural food dye to color it up pretty
  • make little fondant roses for cute chocolate cupcakes

Step 1: Combine 2 bags of mini marshmallows (16oz each) and 1/3 cup water in a bowl over a pot with a few inches of simmering water. (A makeshift double boiler)

dJI6A4825.jpg

Step 2. Heat it up, stirring occasionally, until all the marshmallow is melted.

dJI6A4828.jpg

Step 3. Add 4 lbs (yikes!) of powdered sugar, and stir to combine. Then get your hands in there and work to form a ball.

dJI6A4831.jpg

Step 4. Coat your hands with butter (what?!) and knead the ball until it is smooth and contains no lumps.

Step 5. If you want to color the fondant, cut the large ball into smaller ones and color each individually.

dJI6A4832.jpg

Step 6. Double wrap in plastic wrap overnight and leave at room temperature.

dJI6A4833.jpg


Rainbow Roses

Here's how to make little (or big) rainbow colored roses out of marshmallow fondant.

Step 1. Make tiny balls out of the colored fondant.

dJI6A4843.jpg

Step 2. Flatten each of the little balls into a disk using your thumb or index finger. (Coat your hands with butter to make this a little less sticky of a process).

dJI6A4845.jpg

Step 3. Line up the disks, overlapping.

Step 4. Roll up the line to make a pretty little rose, and let it try overnight.

d.jpg


For these cupcakes, I made a basic chocolate cake, but you could use your favorite cake recipe here.

I made a cream cheese buttercream:

  • 2 sticks butter
  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 1 t vanilla
  • food color (optional)
  • powdered sugar
  • 1-3 T milk, as needed

Step 1: On medium speed, whip butter, cream cheese, and vanilla.

Step 2: Slowly add powdered sugar until the frosting is fluffy and creamy. Add color dropwise to reach whatever color you'd like (I did light pink).

Step 3. Adjust the consistency by adding powdered sugar or milk to thicken or loosen the frosting.


These cupcakes were so cute for a little birthday party at school.

dJI6A4850.jpg

Good thing they were only dropped ONCE on the way there....(Not that I'm holding a grudge or anything.)

dJI6A4853.jpg

Overall, making and working with fondant to make cake decorations was time consuming but so worth it! I will share more in the cake post to come about my experience in covering a cake with fondant, which I'm still on the fence about. Fondant decorations were so fun to make (and eat!)


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please do check out my blog.


Content and photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on 8/23 and 8/24/2017 with a Canon 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

looks good

Thanks so much @skrzypietz!! These were really fun to make!

Amazing food post, good tutorial and very yummi photos!! Good job @jaymorebeet

Thanks @noemilunastorta! I hope you make marshmallow fondant and post on it!

Remember those little button candies from the '70s? You probably aren't that old, but that's what they look like, before you turn them into petals. 😃

I totally remember them, but from the 90s I think ;) Loved those things - although you did ingest a good amount of paper along with the candy if i recall. Daily paper quota.

That looks like something you could have a WHOLE lot of fun with. The sugar bomb alone would be a real kick...
Reminds me of sculpy, or however it's spelled. Very nice work, I'm impressed with your artistic skills. Can you make me a giant Mr. Pototoehead?

Hahah pastel potatohead coming right up! Yeah it was like playing with playdoh but then making it look all fancy for 4 year olds to destroy :) SUCH A SUGAR BOMB.

Doesn't get any better than that. Eat something pretty and tasty, and run around all wiggy and fun like the Everready bunny with only five cupcakes as fuel. Then again, that tank-runnout 3 hours later is definitely a let-down.

I love cupcakes, but never i try this one with the creams, i like how you make this flower 🌺, i will make my best to try this one.

Do try it and let me know how it turns out! Thanks @creativewoman :)

They're so cute! Dangerous ... I might just eat all the fondant before it can get to the cupcakes!

Haha I know it's pretty yummy but definitely VERY SWEET!

Sounds very stickyy (eek!) but interesting and tasty..I've never tried molding fondant. With this one, I just may be able to, some day :)

Yeah it's actually super easy to do! Once the powdered sugar is added it's not really that sticky - the messiest part is making sure that the powdered sugar doesn't fly all over your kitchen!

hehe every time I use powdered sugar, it ends up all over the kitchen..so that's no biggie ;)

A true artist at work. Love the little colorful roses!

Oh, how fun! My 11 yr old granddaughter loves to bake and fondant would be a fun project for us to do together. Love your roses!

Yeah it would be perfect for you guys!! Cooking with kids is messy and slow but so worth it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58139.39
ETH 2454.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36