Dairy-Free Daiya "Cheezecake"

in #food5 years ago

'Tis the season to feel left out while other people enjoy junk food, so when I saw this product on sale at the local supermarket, I decided to give it a try. Surprisingly enough, it's not too bad! Daiya may be the worst cheddar cheese alternative I have tried, but their "cheezecake" is alright.

20181203_091905.jpg

Note that the box seems excessively large in comparison to its contents. The cake itself is only around 5" in diameter. This results in comically small wedges.

20181203_092035.jpg

I have never been much of a consumer of "pumpkin spice" or a fan of its hype, but I thought perhaps it would make up for my lack of proper pumpkin pie over this holiday season. I have to say that pumpkin spice tastes nothing whatsoever of pumpkin. It's mostly nutmeg and allspice. Boo!

Still, this is a treat that doesn't really disappoint, and in a dairy-free diet, that kind of occasional indulgence option is nothing to complain about.

Sort:  

My son has to be nut and dairy free so I feel your pain.

Haha I just gave our daiya cheese to our dog because we did not like it. I have a couple recipes for mock cheese I may give a try, but for the most part, I think we’ll just live without.

I fed some to the chickens once, and don't remember if they bothered to eat it!

Why do you hate your dog so much? LOL!

Fake mozzarella makes decent pizza, although Daiya still isn't ideal for that.

Hi how are you? Good thing you did not come across an unpleasant packaged food, it usually happens but it was not in this case, it is really very small, the fork looks much bigger

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00