Another cooking non-disaster: following a Steemit recipe!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

A few days ago, @Gringalicious wrote a post about a roasted red pepper and orzo pasta chicken dish. Since she mentioned omitting cheese, I thought it looked like a perfect recipe to try out while adhering to my non-dairy diet.

I did mess up my process a couple times, so it took me about an hour to make from start to finish, but it could certainly be done faster by someone less distracted and/or more familiar with the process.

20180420_184408.jpg

I may have used a larger onion than intended, just for starters. Still, it tastes fine to me, so it passes the most important test. I omitted the optional chives, and added a teaspoon of chili powder to the seasoning mix, because I sometimes think of recipes as just guidelines.

20180420_185249.jpg

I also committed wondricide by assaulting an innocent slice of bread with a knife and cold butter substitute. Here's the end result!

20180420_193705.jpg

For better pictures and the original recipe, go check out the original post linked above, and give her a follow if you haven't already!

Sort:  

Do you not like chives, or were there none available?

I forgot to buy 'em, and none were on hand.

I sometimes think of recipes as just guidelines.

Exactly! I've never read a recipe I didn't want to tweak! Even before the allergies, but especially since!

Hello @jacobtothe..
Feb recipe boss.

Thanks for sharing, @jacobtothe ...
Just want to try it at home... It looks delicious...

So nice post with great recipe.Nice photos of good and yummy food.
I like it, I also want to learn such type recipe and I shall start in 15 days.
My cooking class will start 7 May.
Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80