An Unstructured Recipe

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Tonight, I made a recipe known in my family only by a relative's name, "Aunty Sarah's Casserole." It's a set of rough guidelines more than a recipe though, and consequently it is never quite the same twice in a row. Since I was using ground turkey rather than beef, this batch diverged even more from the usual.

20180713_184638.jpg

The recipe can be scaled up easily according to how many people you want to serve or how many servings you want to squirrel away for lunches at work. I made a triple batch tonight, for example.

1 lb. ground beef
1 cup dry macaroni noodles
1 can condensed tomato soup
Diced onion to taste
Seasonings to taste - salt, oregano, parsley, chives, pepper, a dash of chili powder, etc.

This isn't quite a one-pot dish. In fact, it takes a pot and a skillet to make. While browning the meat and sauteeing onion in the skillet, boil macaroni noodles until tender in a pot. Drain noodles. Combine with meat mixture. Add soup and seasonings. Simmer and stir until heated through. Serve.

A note on ground turkey: be sure to add some extra seasoning while browning the meat. I am partial to garlic salt for this, since it serves double duty with one ingredient. It makes a world of difference.

Sort:  

@jacobtothe Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Someone seems to really, really hate it when the refusal to support bidbot schemes is promoted. I don't usually like bots, but I suport this project.

actually sounds pretty good. craving some carbs and protein.

Sounds like our skillet goulash. It’s pretty much what ever we have mixed with things that pair well for seasonings. I have been in a rut for cooking, so I branched our and got some curry powder. We shall see what concoctions I can come up with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75