VEGAN POTATO-PEA CURRY (ALOO MATAR)

in #food6 years ago

Aloo-Matar-2.jpg

Hey you guys, how is everyone doing today?

 
My friend @amy-goodrich shared so many amazing vegan recipes for Indian food lately and inspired me to cook some Indian dishes as well. Today I'm sharing one of the easiest Indian dishes I know - Aloo Matar. Aloo stands for potatoes and matar for peas. This potato-pea curry can be cooked with coconut milk or tomato sauce. I love both versions but here I'm sharing the tomato one with you guys. I hope you love it as much as I do! 💚

[You can find a link to the German version of this recipe at the end of this post.]

Aloo-Matar-1.jpg

 
Ingredients

  • 1 large onion
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • little piece of ginger
  • little piece of turmeric
  • about 1 tsp of Garam Masala spice
    (alternatively mix some cumin, paprika powder, pepper and cardamom)
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 4-5 large potatoes
  • 250 g peas (fresh, frozen or can)
  • 8 medium-size tomatoes
  • 3 tbsp tomato paste
  • optionally 1 bay leaf
  • handful of fresh cilantro

Instructions:

  1. Peel the potatoes and cut them into cubes. Wash and dice the tomatoes.
  2. Peel the onion, garlic, ginger and turmeric and chop them very small. Heat up some water in a pot and sautée for around 2-3 minutes.
  3. Add the potato cubes and roast for some more minutes.
  4. Then add the diced tomatoes, tomato paste, spices and bay leaf and add water until ingredients are almost covered.
  5. Cook at medium heat for around 15 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Add the frozen peas in the last 5 minutes.
  6. In the end, take out the bay leaf and sprinkle with chopped cilantro.

You can find the German version of this recipe >>here<<

Veganes-Aloo-Matar.png

If you like this recipe I'd appreciate your upvote, follow and resteem! 💚

I hope you'll give this yummy recipe a try and I can't wait to hear how you liked it!

Have a great day everyone!

Yours, Sofia

Sofia-small.jpg

U5dtgv5d33ii7EKFuYhpWGoiDNY3J5F.gif

Sort:  

Mmm, this dish looks amazing!

Thanks so much love!!!

This is an other wonderful recipe from you! Spices is life;)

Thanks so much darling, I'm happy you like it :)

My kind of soup ...............looks and sounds delicious Dear Sofia 🌸💖🌸

Many thanks dear Lena, I hope you'll try it one day :D It really is delicious 💖

Friends are not my steemit voting power. I am commenting.
Genius is a great post, so you countless
Thank you so much for fun, funny writing. I'm a general steemit user. I want to follow the wonderful people like you. Please give me upvote and follow me.

Hi dear! When i see your dish i thought that it’s a Moroccan dish, but when i read I know that’s indian cuisine , really it looks so delicious!

Thanks so much! 💖

This looks so good that made me hungry 😊

Thanks love, I hope you'll give it a try ♥

I did and it's very good :)

Looks so delicious, I used to love making this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

You're most welcome! I'm happy I could inspire you ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76