Chocolate donuts with raspberry glazing

in #food6 years ago (edited)

For the international women's day last week, Herman and I were thinking about a special dessert🙌🐭🍹💚
We decided to do chocolate donuts with raspberry glazing and edible flowers🌸🌱😲 One of the best way to show someone your love is to get him chocolate, as it releases serotonin - the happy hormone and red berries any sort(red colour means love). I chose raspberries because they are easy to get right now. In the glazing I used natural raspberry powder. The blue flowers I used as toppings were cornflowers I collected and dried last summer.

RECIPE:
For the Donuts:
1 cup (125g) all purpose flour
1/4 cup (22g) cocoa powder (unsweetened)
1/3 cup xylit
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup (180ml) plant based milk
2 tbsp applesauce
2 tbsp coconut oil
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp vanilla
For the raspberry glaze:
60g powdered xylit
3 tbsp cocoa powder (unsweetened)
1/2 tsp vanilla
2-3 tbsp plant based milk
For decorating:
dried edible cornflowers
bits of raspberries

IMG_20180313_205854_037.jpg

PREPARATION:
Preheat the oven to (180°C).
Sift the flour and the cocoa powder into a mixing bowl and add the sugar, baking soda and salt.
Add the plant based milk, applesauce, coconut oil, vinegar and vanilla and whisk with a hand whisk to remove any lumps. Spray a donut tray with non-stick spray and divide the batter evenly among the donut rings.
Bake in the oven for 15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into one of the donuts comes out clean.
Remove from the oven, allow to cool for a few minutes and then transfer them to a wire cooling rack.
Allow to cool completely before adding the raspberry glaze.

Glazing: add the powdered xylit, raspberry powder, vanilla and 2 tbsp of the plant milk, 2 tsp cocoa butter (melted) to the bowl of an electric mixer and mix until smooth. Check the consistency, you want it to be thick enough to set on top of the donuts but thin enough that the donuts can be dipped directly into the glaze.
Then place onto a parchment lined baking tray. Add sprinkles or other toppings and enjoy.

IMG_20180313_210133_390.jpg

Sort:  

I’m going to have to go buy a doughnut pan now! Yum

yeah is definitely worth to have one in the kitchen:)

These look so good!!😍✨ I could just smash all of them right now..

haha I have the same watching others food pics:)

great article, I invite you to watch :)

Oh wow Waldermar! What a great recipe and these donuts looks amazing!!!

Thank you Niina I am glad you like them:)

I can almost smell them :) wow

thank you:) they smell very good I can guarantee you;)

They are too pretty to be eaten. I have never baked with xylit. Do you use the same amount as regular sugar?

I always use less than in the recipe as I don't like sweet desserts. However Xylit is a good sugar.

Oh my goodness..............these are exquisite 🌸💖🌸

thank you my dear! so happy you like them:)

Always a pleasure.............you are an artist 😊

I always feel loved when someone bakes me something like this! Beautiful!

haha you are very welcome! It was your day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70