Lu Bu Mediterranean Restaurant: A Disappointing First Visit

in #food6 years ago

I checked out Lu Bu for the first time tonight. This smart tapas bar has been open for a while now in Tao Dien, District 2 Saigon. I have been promising myself to get along and try out the food. Tonight I finally made it. The restaurant has a minimalist feel to it, with white walls, white ceiling and white linen. It has a vibrant vibe about it and was crowded. Friday night is 50% off all tapas which probably explained why it was so busy.

I ordered the Patatas Bravas, Chorizo and Meatballs all washed down with a nice glass of house red. At full price this place ranks in the medium to high bracket for the area. This is a really nice looking restaurant with a great ambience, but the food disappointed. Inside with air-con, seats about 50 people and there are almost as many seats al fresco. The garden area is nice with a large Frangipani tree offering shade from the Saigon sun.
IMG_7056.jpg

Patatas Bravas, rather bland tasting

The service is ok to poor with waitresses constantly refilling my water and tending on customers reasonably well. My red wine arrived almost immediately but the meatballs and potatoes took over 15 minutes which considering how busy they were is not bad. However the Chorizo arrived a full 20 minutes after the other two dishes and after I had finished them. I was sorely tempted to send them back, but persevered. I wish I hadn’t.
IMG_7058.jpg
The Meatballs were the best dish of the evening

The portions are generous, in fact in the case of the potatoes, possibly too generous. I would prefer smaller portions, cheaper so that I can mix things up more. With tapas I’d rather have four small portions than three larger ones. Then again, dining alone often is like this. Tapas is much better as a shared experience and a group would probably have more fun here.
IMG_7055.jpg
At least the wine was good

Moving on to the food, I thought the meatballs were really good. Five good sized meatballs in a rich tomato sauce, served with a generous helping of bread to mop it all up. The Patatas Bravas was disappointing, with the tomato sauce and aioli too bland for my palate. It would have benefitted from a little seasoning. The Chorizo was probably the worst I’ve ever had. I had a couple of tastes and left it.

To cap it all when they brought the bill there were three glasses of rosé and 2 glasses of white wine added on. Did they honestly think that I had drank 6 glasses of wine in less than an hour whilst seated on my own? I obviously pointed out their mistake and it took a full 10 minutes for them to sort it out and no apology was offered.

So all in all a really disappointing meal for me after quite good recommendations from friends. Maybe I caught them on an off night, I’ll come again with friends who rate the place and see if it is a different experience.

!steemitworldmap 10.807826 lat 106.733530 long Lu Bu Mediterranean Restaurant D3SCR

I have been developing the InSeAsia website for three years. It genuinely is a labour of love. I have lived in Southeast Asia for 9 years and have no plans to ever leave.

I am extremely grateful to anyone who follows me, up votes, comments or re-steems my work.

Come and check me out. If ever you come to Saigon, Vietnam get in touch and we can meet up.

Website: http://www.inseasia.com

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@inseasia

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/InSeAsia/

Facebook group for Southeast Asia Steemians: https://www.facebook.com/groups/846253152208905/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4YQUTrPwK190V4vbJDLt_A

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/inseasia/

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=inseasia
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=lu-bu-mediterranean-restaurant-a-disappointing-first-visit


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

It's really sad to hear that it was disappointing. Will you give it a chance and try it again?

I always give a restaurant a second chance, anyone can have a bad day. Thanks for commenting.

You should try different dishes maybe. I suggest olive oily dishes. It's healthy and delicious.

I love olive oil and olives in general. Unfortunately dining alone limits the number of dishes one can order. If I had been with friends, olives would certainly been order as would boquerones which are a favourite.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73