Lettuce on Burgers! What kind of Devil’s Work is this?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Am I alone in this? I like a burger as well as the next guy. I quite like salads also. Crisp lettuce served fresh with a nice dressing is delicious. Hot meat between bread is delicious. But hot meat on top of lettuce is a recipe for disaster. All that happens is that the lettuce turns into some kind of silicon based lubricant that enables the meat to slide out of the bread with all the efficiency of a well lubricated piston.
IMG_6824.jpg

I mean really? If this was served as an open salad, it would get sent back every time

Considering that the Americans invented the hamburger they are certainly leading the pack in their efforts to cock it up completely. The main claim to be the first is by one certain Mr Fletcher Davis of Athens, Texas. Oral tradition has it that in the 1880s Mr Davis opened a food counter in town serving a “burger of fried ground beef patties with mustard and Bermuda onion between two slices of bread, with a pickle on the side”. You will notice a complete absence of any damned lettuce here!
IMG_6822.jpg

Starts off looking pretty and turns into Algae in seconds

Nowadays burgers are getting bigger and bigger. They stand 6 inches high on your plate and have to be held together with a wooden stake through their hearts. Nobody can get their mouth round 6 inches! Steady!!!!

Please people, let’s get back to having burgers as they should be. If you insist on salad, please serve it as a side.

I have been developing the InSeAsia website for three years. It genuinely is a labour of love. I have lived in Southeast Asia for 9 years and have no plans to ever leave.

I am extremely grateful to anyone who follows me, up votes, comments or re-steems my work.

Come and check me out. If ever you come to Saigon, Vietnam get in touch and we can meet up.

Website: http://www.inseasia.com

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@inseasia

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/InSeAsia/

Sort:  

On point! A good burger doesn't need any greens! Just nice and thick beef patty, cheese and some sauce or mayo!

Thanks Hanzkiboy, a man after my own heart.

I just hate salad
But i love burger

I like salad as a salad and burgers as burgers. The two don't mix! lol

hanks to the writings, I want to go to Southeast Asia:)

You should, it's well worth the trip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54604.00
ETH 2294.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34