You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Delicious, healthy meals for camping & day hiking (whole food plant based)

in #food7 years ago

Hi there, @lone-sliver, and thanks for commenting! Very cool that you got to hike the AT. Yes, absolutely all of your tips are great for backpacking or day hiking. My post was specifically for the car-camping and RV-er types, though, but in the future, I'll be posting my backpacking food prep tips. I dehydrate fruits and veggies, as well as whole meals that are easy-peasy to rehydrate. With our camper cookstove and refrigerator, though, I don't dip into our precious dehydrated goods. And yes, we definitely don't drag along all that cookware and utensils for the backwoods trips!

Sort:  

Also, @lone-sliver, I don't mind the extra weight of the Mason jars and fresh food in my daypack. I figure it gets me into better shape for carrying a backpack :-)

Yeah, I guess it's just habit for us now, even for dayhiking we still go as minimalistic as possible to keep ourselves light & mobile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66