Let's cook CARROT jam:) (whole process description and photos inside)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

At first time I tryed carrot jam on vegan fair. I can't describe this taste, it's simply awesome! But since it's not sold here in Ukraine I had to learn how to cook it. I heard that it's a regular product in Portugal, and to import it to Europe the The European Union had to recognize carrots as fruit (cause only fruit jams are allowed for import). I don't know if it's true, but fun anyway:) So, what you'll get:

Let's start:) What you need:

Two carrots, two oranges, one lemon, sugar and water. 

  • Step One: remove the peel from oranges and lemon.

  • Step Two: cut them as cubes. Remove all the bones.

  • Step three: put the citrus in the bowl, add water and put it on fire.

Now you have 30 minutes to prepare the carrot. So:)

  • Step Four: grate carrots on a fine grater.

  • Step Six: put the carrot in the bowl to the citruses.

  • Step Seven: take 200-300 gramm os sugar and add it to the bowl.

Now you have to boil it gently for an hour or more

You know that the jam is ready when the carrot is almost transparent. And it mustn't be to much liquid. If it is - continue boiling.

Here I have two tiny banks of jam:)

This jam has a short use by date term. But it's so tasty that it wount last for long:)

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Looks delicious, yumyum :)

It really is! It's simple to cook and SUPER tasty!:)

Sounds good!!! Thanks for the recipe ^_^

You're welcome!:) It's really tasty:)

I'll try it, I like the carrots ^_^

You really should:) When I saw it on the fair I was really surprised, I never saw a carrot jam before. They also had onion jam, but I yet didn't tryed to cook it:) Plan to do it soon:)

My granny made a green tomatoes jam, it was so delicious ^_^

Delicious! Thanks for the recipe I'll try

I'll be happy if you will:) It's really tasty:)

I would never have thought to use carrots in jam, but it makes total sense. Can't wait to try this during the summer/fall. Great way to use up my extra carrots.

In my contry carrots are aviable in all seasons:) It tastes differently depending on if you use old or young carrot, but delicious anyway:)

Can't wait to try this... Weekend treat me thinks. Thank you for sharing.

You're very welcome:)

That looks like it tastes wonderful, thanks for sharing with us @inber.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68101.41
ETH 3762.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69