Preparing the Nigerian Akara

in #food7 years ago

Hello everyone, I welcome you all today to @illuminatus's blog. I hope that your day has been blissful. It's Sunday, so I'll be talking about food again. I think I need to give these my food sessions a name. I'll appreciate your opinions on what that name could be in the comments section.



Today, I'll be talking about how to make Akara(Fried Beans Cakes). Akara is a popular delicacy in West-Africa, which can be taken at any time of the day.



Some people make their living from the sale of Akara. It is not uncommon to see people hawking Akara or selling it in stalls. In some places, you can purchase Akara at any time of the day, while some people only make it at night. When travelling across Nigeria, one is bound to see people selling Akara at certain locations.



Buying things food is less stressful than making them at home. However, there is this joy a person derives when he makes his own meals himself. Therefore, I'll be explaining how you can make Akara in your own home today.



Ingredients Required For Making Akara

  • Ground Crayfish

  • Stock Cubes

  • Brown-eyed or Black-eyed beans

  • Chilli pepper

  • Cooking Oil

  • Onions

  • Salt



Cooking Directions

  • The beans coat is soaked in water for about four hours, so as to make the removal of the beans easier.

  • The beans coat are removed.

  • The beans are poured into a powerful blender, along with the onions and pepper, after which they are blended into a smooth puree.

  • The puree is poured into a bowl and then the salt, stock cubes and ground crayfish are added to the puree, after which they are well stirred.

  • A generous amount of cooking oil is poured into a frying pan and heated till it is hot.

  • With the aid of a spoon, the puree is scooped and gently placed into the frying pan containing the hot oil.

  • The Akara is fried on each side until it has a golden brown colour.

  • The Akara balls are places in a sieve so as to drain the excess oil.



If you follow the directions stated above religiously, you'll have a delicious Akara ready to eat.

Photo Credit



Akara can be eaten alone or along with Bread, Pap, Garr, or Custard. It can also be eaten along with other finger food items as a snack.



On Wednesdays, I'll be bringing you different Yoruba proverbs and talking about how they can be used in the real world, etc. I promise you that this is something you do not want to miss.

Thank you for sparing your time to go through this. I remain your humble little boy.



I am @Illuminatus, I am a Nigerian and I am neither a terrorist, a scammer nor a spammer.



Sort:  

AJ picked your post @illuminatus for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Oh my! You have done it again....

I seriously need pap and milk right now.

@illuminatus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45