EAT IT RAW

in #food7 years ago (edited)

is-the-raw-food-diet-healthy.jpg

I'm sure many of us have met someone who just HAS to let you know about their diet.

If they don't tell you about it, they might just DIE

Shit. I've met those people, and if I'm being honest, they aren't as crazy as they may seem...
well... maybe that's a rash statement...

But, most of these vegan/ raw food diets actually have some very beneficial aspects to them.

Now, I'm not here to annoy people or police people about their diet.
Nor am I trying to bother you about veganism until your brain turns to lettuce.

giphy (13).gif

BUT

What I will do, is to tell you how eating raw foods is beneficial,

AND

How you can incorporate more raw foods into your diet if you wish to!



Firstly,


organically grown fruits and vegetables are some of the most bountiful sources of vitamins and minerals that you can find.

These foods are quickly digested and absorbed by our bodies, making them very efficient in supplying our body with the things we need.
Some of the beneficial properties contained in raw fruits and vegetables are:

  • anti-inflammation
  • optimization of liver function
  • body weight stability
  • clear skin
  • increase in energy store
  • decrease of carcinogens and antinutrients
  • And the list goes on...

    Additionally, diets high in fruits, vegetables, legumes, and grains are high in biologically active substances known as:

    Phytochemicals


    Phytochemicals are chemicals found in such foods that are responsible for their
    flavor, color, and natural disease resistance.

    These Phytochemicals have been proven to prevent cancer by destroying carcinogenic molecules that are found in cells before they pose any real problems.

    One Phytochemical in particular called Flavonoids, prevent cancer-causing hormones from attaching themselves to cells.

    The good thing about Phytochemicals, as opposed to other beneficial vitamins and enzymes, is that Phytochemicals are NOT destroyed in the cooking process!

    Just try to incorporate a variety of colorful foods into your diet to obtain some of these nutritional benefits!


    The cooking issue comes in with the vitamins, minerals, and enzymes that are found in raw foods.

    The beneficial enzymes, vitamins, and nutrients that are contained in these foods are EXTREMELY sensitive to heat; usually being destroyed in the cooking process.

    download (3).jpg

    For some Vitamins, (Vitamin C for example) water exposure also destroys them.


    So what can you do
    to get the most benefit out of your food?

    EASY! DON'T COOK!

    For one, fresh produce is relatively cheap. If you go to a supermarket, they usually have fresh fruits and vegetables near the entrance.

    produce_03.jpg

    Go there, pick out a variety of fruits and vegetables (at the peak of ripeness), and throw them in your cart.

    If you can buy organically grown foods, it will be better as there is not as much chemical residue that needs to be washed off.

    The next step is easy. Just eat them raw.

    I am not a vegan, but I eat A LOT of raw foods along with my meat and animal products.

    If I'm eating a steak or whatever, I will just throw in the fresh produce on the side or in a salad bowl.

    No cooking required.

    In addition to that, you can prepare a nice bowl of fruit to go along with that meal.
    Again, fast and no cooking needed.

    Some vegetables such as broccoli and spinach are more beneficial if you steam them, which is also a very quick process.

    But what if you don't like vegetables?

    If you are one of those people who refuses to eat vegetables.... well... you cannot be saved!



    References:

    -Balch, Phyllis A. Prescription for nutritional healing: a practical A-to-Z reference to drug-free remedies using vitamins, minerals, herbs & food supplements. London: Penguin, 2011. Print.

    -http://www.phytochemicals.info/

    -http://www2.ca.uky.edu/hes/fcs/factshts/FN-SSB.006.pdf



    THANKS FOR READING
    Stay Awesome
    -Zey

    Sort:  

    Great food source suggestions (raw)...great information...great suggestions on how to go about it. Thanks for posting quality information for those who want to eat for life and good living. Cheers @illestbambi.

    Thank you, I appreciate it!

    Thanks for the info. I've read 7-10 cups a day of raw veggies is best. I try to do some with breakfast (which i had to overcome in my mind-because who eats salad with breakfast? ) lunch and dinner. My kids are eating more now, as well. Yay!

    Thank you, I appreciate the feedback :)

    You are a great parent for helping your children eat healthier!
    It's difficult to get used to at first, but after a while, you will realize it is so easy to incorporate veggies into your meals.

    Good post. I think the microwave pic has been debunked and some foods like tomatoes are actually better for you cooked but mostly good advice :)

    Thank you for correcting me, I didn't even realize that picture was from data collected in 2003....
    thankfully I was able to edit the post and remove it.

    Great post dude, food game proper! As the saying goes, you are what you eat. Proper diet goes a long way in peoples lives, and proper nutrition is a must!

    Keeping it raw, keeps it simple too, less to cook! With that said, I steam half the veggies on plate, and half raw. Bit of melted butter over the top, and you're golden!

    Thank you bro!

    I cannot agree with you more; proper nutrition is crucial to living your life to its full potential.
    I know you do a lot of cooking yourself, I'm glad you are aware and making an effort to eat properly!

    You get out what you put in :)

    great info about natural fruits...very informative and beneficial....keep this up nd ensure you educate stemians more of such benefits which i also plan to engage in

    regards

    Thank you, I appreciate the feedback.

    As long as I'm here on steemit, I'll be sharing as much knowledge as possible!

    glad to know and find a worthy ally in me also...
    do follow me so you also read my health series coming up soon...as i am building up my friends followers who has similar view points,,,

    i guess also you find my latest post on brain power entertaining...do read support and comment
    thanks

    thanks for the tips and thanks a lot for sharing and keep on posting ;)

    No problem!
    Thank you for the feedback.

    I am not convinced to eat completly raw but steemit needs more posts like this :)

    I don't eat 100% raw either, in fact, I'm about 40%raw 60% cooked.

    I think eating 100% raw is a little extreme, but I am not blind to the fact that
    there are some serious benefits to including raw foods in one's diet.

    Thank you for the feedback!

    You are right i should also look a bit more into that :)

    very correct...nice comment on natural foods

    Great Post raw is the best

    This post has received a 2.61 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @banjo, @illestbambi.

    Great article! I don't like to go a day without getting some raw fruits or vegetables in. I literally feel the difference if I don't. These are great references and well laid out points to support eating raw, thank you. I've followed you and look forward to seeing more of your food research :)

    Thank you, I really appreciate the feedback!
    I feel the same way, on days when all I eat is fruits and vegetables, I feel much better.
    I have many other posts about nutrition/health that I've posted weeks ago, you might find them interesting.

    Checked out your blog, gave you a follow in return :)

    Thanks @illestbambi! Will take a look :)

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.29
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.033
    BTC 69788.22
    ETH 3727.34
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.75