Food Adventures 4 : I nearly ate Sushi

in #food6 years ago (edited)

You cannot eat meat all the time. Occasionally you want something lean and mean, something fresh and raw. It’s time for Sushi !!!

IMG_20180321_145111_resized_20180321_051153569 copy.jpg

Location and Environment

As soon I finished my office duties I headed over to Koi Sushi Bar which is located at Nikis 15 st at Syntagma Square. It is in the dead center of Athens and this is the reason it is always full of people , tourists and Greek. I was lucky enough to find a small table and looked at the menu.

IMG_20180321_142517_resized_20180321_051153381.jpg

As if I knew anything about sushi. Ok, I know that it consists of rice and raw sea food. This is where my knowledge ends. I continued to look at the menu pretending I would choose my favorite one. Until the waitress came.

Food and Service

Of course, I got a little bit of everything. When you know nothing, you order a collection of items and hope you will like something.

IMG_20180321_143041_resized_20180321_051154301.jpg

For starters I got two heart shaped rice balls. The left one was plain rice and the right one was seasoned with something that made you think you ate fish.

IMG_20180321_143830_resized_20180321_051153941.jpg

After a little while my sushi arrived. There were various items and as I recall from the catalogue they were called something rolls. I had tuna, salmon and shrimp rolls. Sea weed and rice and rice and fish in the middle , some plain tuna and salmon.

And the green paste in the bottom left corner of the plate, which I decided to eat first. I took a small bite and IT BURNS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

IMG_20180321_145116_resized_20180321_051153754.jpg

IT BUUUUURRRRRNNNNNNNNSSSSSSSSS !!! What the fuck is that ??? Seriously what is this thing ? Please tell me so that it never ever enters my system again.

I tried to hide my cough and with tears in my eyes I reached for the water trying to act as if everything was normal. And normal it was but only after a couple of minutes had passed.

IMG_20180321_145119_resized_20180321_051154119.jpg

Then I slowly, more on that later, consumed, without any more surprises the rest of the meal. Paid and returned home probably never to come back again.

Let me entertain you

Now, let me address the elephant in the room. And I mean that instrument of torture that device of ridicule of unsuspected human beings, the chopsticks.

IMG_20180321_145111_resized_20180321_051153569.jpg

They were laying on the table waiting for the next victim. And that was me. I realized what I got myself into when the waitress brought me the rice balls. I looked her , she looked me back, smiled and left.

Oh, shit, I’m screwed… No forks, no spoons here… In hindsight, who would have guessed, I know, but at that time I was naive, inexperienced …

But, with confidence I grabbed them and tried to eat the rice, only to nearly poke my eye. That didn’t work, so went to plan B. Opened Youtube and typed “how to use chopsticks” , I saw a couple of videos , one I share with you, tried various holds and techniques and clum-sily and slowly was able to eat my sushi.

Proud I was about this feat of mine. Now the food was good, but not great. Rice was cooked correctly and everything was fresh, but without any particular flavor. For what you see I paid 14.5 euros which is on the cheap side as it goes for Sushi.

While I was trying to balance my food to these pointy pieces of wood I looked around me and noticed I wasn’t the only one having the same issues. Not that I would care if someone was laughing at me. Instead of being ashamed, embarrassed , offended I would be happy that I entertained a human being. I gave him the gift of laughter, I extended his life.

In the end do whatever you want and don’t take it seriously or personal.

Have a good laugh and get on with your life.

And until the next food adventure…
Be Healthy, Smile and Steem.

footer.png

Sort:  

καλό,αλλά αν δε φας κανά πιτόγυρο μετά είναι σα να μην έφαγες ,χαχα

Πληροφοριες οτι καπακι πηγα για πιτογυρο ελεγχονται ως αναληθεις ...

hahahahaha the first rice ball - i think probably it was seasoned with seaweed (and possibly fish sauce ? it's so strong!)

and the green paste is wasabi!!!! LOLOLOL it's very similar to horseradish - did you take a big bite??? only a small bit! hahahahaha

i used to eat sushi often - but, not anymore!!! (too many scares with the.... well i won't tell you . you already ate! LOL i don't want to worry you now ahahaha)

but i'm very skilled with chopsticks - next time... come see me and i'll show you -and then we'll go eat some Korean BBQ!!!! your life will never be the same again! hehehehe :)

Yes , Korean BQQ. Screw that raw stuff. I want roasted, juicy pork meat !!!

The bite of wasabi was big enough never to touch again. It was good for the experience and next time will take a while and I will go with someone that actually knows a thing or two about it.

Ha-ha-ha, excuse, but I laughed at me long. I had the same situation with sticks. And the same situation with this green thing)))))))))) but beer extinguished the flames in mouth as have a dragon)))))
065.JPG
Me and my sister went to a sushi bar.))

Great looking sisters. :)
This is what I did wrong... The beer. If I had enough beer everything would be ok... :)

Thanks for the compliment😉😌. Yes, by the way, I did not like SUSHI. I liked warm rolls with sesame. Well, and of course beer)))

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 20 SBD worth and should receive 70 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I also do not feel comfortable using sticks, maybe if I liked sushi, I would bring a fork with me. And let everyone have fun.

Don't think forks are accepted. :)

If I bring a fork with me, they will not understand me?

Chances are they throw you out.

Very sad, I have to practice food with chopsticks.

In the restaurant, they should show you how to use it .

Thank you for your patience, and I hope that you will forgive me a stupid question. In fact, I never dare enter someone else's house with my rules.

You are one of the most polite persons I've met here and honored to be part of this journey . :)

Ahhh the experience of a sushi virgin :D

I lost my virginity and everything will be smoother from now on ...

Χορτασες;; πολύ λίγο το βλέπω το φαΐ;; 😁

Και ομως θα σου φανει περιεγο με κρατησε μεχρι αργα το βραδυ.
Καταρχην ειναι πολυ ρυζι που αμα το απλωσεις ειναι σιγουρα ενα πιατο γεματο και η ωμη τροφη που χρειαζεται περισσοτερη ωρα χωνεψης.

Λίγο πιο πέρα είναι το New York Sandwiches.. το προτιμώ!!! :)))))))))))))

Θα το εχω στα υποψη ...

looks so good!

Yes, presentation wise was great.

ενα θα πω: γαμω το σουσι :p

αντε θα πω κ ενα αλλο. η ποιοτητα στο κοι ειναι κατω του μετριου γενικα, ετσι για την πλακα ειναι οκ :p αλλα καλυτερο ειναι να πας σε ενα καλυτερο να φας την ''καλη'' ποιοτητα να δεις αν οντως σου αρεσει η οχι
για μενα ακομα κ ετσι μαυρο χαλι μ φανηκε :p

η καλυτερη ποιοτητα κανει και κανα 40αρι το ατομο. δεν ειμαι για τετοια πειραματα . καλυτερα να τα δωσω αλλου.

Να'σαι καλά βρε Ηλία . Πραγματικά γέλασα !

Χαιρομαι και γω γιαυτο το εγραψα . :)

Το διάβασα. Γι'αυτό το σχολίασα!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45