Cooking with Diamantis : peas and tuna

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I love to cook. I find it fun and creative. And it gives my body all the nutrients it needs. Problem is at weekdays when you get back from office you don't have the time or the mood to cook. But on the other hand eating out is something I rarely prefer on terms of food quality and economy.

cooking.png

So, I have figured out some recipes that are simple, easy and quick to cook. And they won't break the bank and they will provide all the nutrients needed.

In this post I will show one of my favorite recipes: peas and tuna.

The main ingredients are frozen peas and canned tuna. Peas will provide carbs and fiber, while tuna will contribute the much needed protein. Olive oil is the base and brings good fats to the table.

DSC_0280.jpg

For added flavor we will use dry oregano, salt and pepper. A touch of cheese is always present in my dishes. Of course, you can add any herb or spice that you like.

DSC_0284.jpg

Step one. Saute a little bit of onion. If I don't have onion, I skip this step. Then we saute the tuna. Yes , you read correctly, I saute the canned tuna in order to liven it up and resemble the taste of fresh fish.

DSC_0286.jpg

Step two. After the tuna has color, I put the frozen peas in the stove and cook it together with the tuna. It will take 10 minutes until they are soft enough and ready to be consumed.

DSC_0287.jpg

DSC_0289.jpg

Step three. Add a little bit or a lot , it's up to you, of cheese and wait a couple of minutes for it to melt. And don't forget salt, pepper and any other spice you like.

DSC_0290.jpg

Step four. Serve and enjoy. You can accompany with some bread or in my case two mini wholegrain rye rusks.

DSC_0292.jpg

DSC_0293.jpg

The whole cooking process takes 15 minutes, so I think anybody can do it and it is worth waiting. Maybe my approach is out of the ordinary, but it works for me.

You can try it and tell me the results.

And until the next recipe …
Be Healthy, Smile and Steem.

footer.png

Sort:  

The food good look &delicious

Thanks for resteeming. :)

Welcome the good post

Sorry, I don't trust thin people when it comes to cooking. Too healthy for my taste

You are absolutely right. Body composition is not something we should take lightly.

It looks delicious...

hhmm delicious!!!!!!!!😊

thank you anna. :)

Looks good and simple I will try to doing.

and just tell me how awesome it is .

Looks very good, interesting recipe

thank you. I will post my recipes from time to time.

Seriously that damn tuna goes along great with everything!

Yes it does. Just don't overdo it because they say it might contain heavy metals.

If I did not hate araka as much as I do .. I would give it a try immediately!
I love the way you presented it, how you explained why peas and why tuna (protein etc) and really nice photos!
Καλή Όρεξη!

Thank you Katerina. You could replace peas with something similar of your choice . :)

master chef

Τον ακή τον τρώω λάχανο . :)

haha to epomeno vima einai dikia sou ekpobi :P

μου βαζεις ιδεες ... :)

AHA! I see a high protein, keeping the carbs out dish!

Tuna, chilly and mayonaise: also winning for all these kinds of eating patterns

Yes, high protein for the win. I suppose on your island you have plenty of fresh fish.

We have! Yellowtail, red snapper and mahi mahi are the most caught here. But still stupidly expensive for some reason? I need to get a fishing rod haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60666.25
ETH 2702.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43