One Year Baking and Still Counting

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello friends,

Today I stumbled upon an old photo in my Instagram's account and I giggled to myself. I found the photo of my first cake ever that I made for my sister in law's birthday.

I first started to bake after receiving an old hand mixer from my partner's Grandma. Before, I only baked very easy treats that didn't require any mixer because I didn't have one at that time. Then I decided to make a cake for my sister's birthday to try my "new" hand mixer. It was on August 2016. I had this Red Velvet Cake with cream cheese frosting in my mind and I was eager to make it. It sounded doable for me.

I still clearly remember all the struggles at that time. It was very frustrating. There was no big problem for the cake. I was just quite shocked knowing how much red food coloring gel I had to put in the batter in order to have such a vibrant color. I should have used natural food coloring from beetroots. It would have been healthier.

The thing that made me so frustrated was the frosting. It was too runny that the frosting wouldn't stick to the cake. I tried to fix the consistency by adding some powdered sugar, just like people say in the internet, but it didn't work. It became runnier. Arrrghh.. I had to put the frosting in the freezer for a couple of minutes then I managed to spread it around the cake. It stressed me out. The decoration was not so pretty but still okay for a beginner like me.

FB_IMG_1506183305213.jpg

That was my first cake: Red Velvet Cake 👆- August 2016

Since then, I've been learning a lot about baking by myself and I'm more motivated when I received my Kitchen Aid stand mixer for my birthday on November 2016. My skill has been improving. I even made my own birthday cake.

FB_IMG_1506194848411.jpg

After one year, there are still a lot of things to learn and to improve. But I am happy and I've never been so motivated like now. Also I am proud of myself :-)

This was the cake that I made for my sister in law this year. I am improving, am I not? :-)

IMG_20170807_150616_918.jpg

Orange Passion Fruit Drip Cake - August 6, 2017

You'll find as well some of my cakes below:

IMG_20170720_085428_724.jpg

Strawberry Drip Cake - July 2017

IMG_20170711_100114_927.jpg

Princess Cake - July 2017

FB_IMG_1506195975181.jpg

Banofee Tiramisu Cake - January 2017

FB_IMG_1506195986497.jpg

Cookie Monster Cake - December 2016

All the cakes that I made above weren't for sale. They were made as a gift for someone's birthday :-)

By the way, I have received an order recently from a friend to make a wedding cake for next week. It's up to me what kind of cake I want to create. I was actually already thinking of making a cake for them as a gift when I received the wedding invitation :-D I have found some ideas and have planned everything for next week. I really hope this will go well. I will share with you the cake when it's done :-) Wish me luck!

If you like my post, please don't hesitate to upvote and resteem. Thank you for reading.

Best,
signature-fonts

PS: All work and photo are original and mine.

Sort:  

wow, stunning cakes. and all the best for the wedding cake - I know it will certainly be memorable.

Thanks @jznsamuel! Oh yes, it will be so memorable because it'll be my first wedding cake ever. Got everything planned but I'm already nervous. Wish me luck! Have a nice Sunday :-)

All the best! you'll certainly do well... looking forward to the post about it :)

Will post about it for sure! Thanks again for the motivation. I really need it :-D

wow i love the princess dress cake and cookie monster, how long did it take you to make them?

Hi @goldsilverguide! For the cake, I always make them the night before and decorate them the next morning. For the decorations, it takes me 2-3 hours (including making the buttercream) :-) You'll need some elbow grease for such decorations even though it looks simple.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ikaputri3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

OMGSH, your cake is AMAZING!!! Your first cake is my favorite! Keep baking, it looks so yummy so far!

Million thanks @kubbyeelizabeth! My first cake turned out quite good for a novice like me if I might say :-D Thank you for reading and don't worry, I'll keep baking! ;-)

So excited to catch some more of your cake! How are you liking steemit so far?

So far, I like being in this community. I dont think much about the reward otherwise I'm already out from this platform since I dont earn much. The best thing is I met some people and we became friends. That's nice :-)

I agree, I don't focus on the reward as much as all the friends I have made. Have you met anyone in person from steemit?

Yes, I have met some Steemians in person in Brussels. And what about you?

Yes I have met a few from Florida. It is so wild that a website desgined for writing would bring so many people together in real life! Are you going to steemfest?

Eh ben ils sont magnifiques. Je suis pas gateau et pourtant ca donne envie de tester ;)

Merci beaucoup @permatek! Au début, je me disais je n'arriverais jamais à faire des gâteaux car je n'aimais pas trop en manger des sucreries mais maintenant j'en suis fan! :-)

Ahah comme quoi tout change :) Je suis pas trop à la base non plus, mais gouter une bouchée je suis pas contre pour découvrir :) C'est marrant une amie de ma cousine ne mangeait rien d'autre de des pates blanches, sans sauces, sans condiment (strictement rien d'autre). Elle est cuisto dans un resto aujourd'hui

C'est tout à fait possible! Je ne mange pas des pâtes car j'ai vécu un moment où je mangeais trop de pâtes avec du beurre et maintenant j'en peux plus. Mais je les cuisine bien et j'en fais toujours pour mon compagnon :-D

Ouai en même temps c'est le plus pratique à faire (à part manger fruits et légumes crus, mais c'est pas le même budget ;) ). Ah... Après avec un peu d'imagination pour les sauces, les pates permettent aussi de varier complètement :) Bonne journée

You're one hell of a baker. Your creations are amazing and I'm looking forward to the wedding cake you're planning to do! :)

I mean honest: Your first cake you showed in this post looks like you started to bake a long time ago! :D

Thank you so much Alina for your kind words! Invite me to your wedding and I'll offer you one as a gift :-D

My first cake turned out quite ok but I assure you, it was like a hell when I made it, haha.. hard works paid off.

Good luck next week with your friend's wedding cake. No doubt you will do well with the experience you accumulated overtime. You should be proud of yourself and I am proud of you too! Cake is for celebration and it connects people. You have a gift and have the potential to make others happy. Like I said last time, I would love to visit your bakeshop and meet you for the first time!! Looking forward to that.

Kiniiiii... You're such an angel on Earth! Your words touched me right into my heart :-) My partner keeps telling me that he wants to work in Canada after finishing his short courses. Maybe one day, our meet up will finally come into reality ;-) Thanks for the motivation! ❤️

Yes, I love coffee and maybe we could collaborate when if you move to Canada. We could open a shop that would serve coffee and treat from you! Anything is possible and let's keep dreaming, thinking and one day things will happen!

That's a super idea! And yes, just like you said, it's possible. Let's keep dreaming! :-)

How i wish I could order my daughter birthday cake from you my friend!

No need to order my friend! I'll offer one for Rheem with pleasure ;-)

Wow! These cakes 🎂 very beautiful, me never i try it, i have to give try to learn how i prepare it, they looks so yummy especially the princess dress .

It will be a bit difficult for the beginning, just like any other first time things. But I know you can make it my friends. That princess cake is perfect for Rheem's birthday cake ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66227.96
ETH 3571.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14