My Birthday Cake: Light Lemon Cake with Lemon Curd Filling and Vanilla Swiss Meringue Buttercream Frosting

in #food7 years ago

putri cake 1.jpg

Life is too short too be lived by counting years. Just enjoy the ride and make awesome memories. Happy birthday!!

-Unknown-

My birthday has just passed and I had a great time celebrating my special day with my loved one. I didn't throw any party because I've been so busy this past few weeks but I will celebrate it with my partner's family this Saturday. This is the second year that I made my own birthday cake for myself. Ever since I started to love baking, I'm always in charge for the cake for me and the whole family. I love doing this.

Talking about the cake, I wasn't planning to decorate my cake this way. The initial plan was using of some flower decorations from white chocolate but I didn't have enough time to make them because I had to go to work. Well, I knew that this would happen, I should have prepared it a night before. My bad! But it's ok, I still love my cake. It's also beautiful like this. Pretty in pink ;-)

putri cake 3.jpg

Light Lemon Cake

For the cake I opted for something fresh, so I went for this Light Lemon Cake with Lemon Curd filling and Vanilla Swiss Meringue Buttercream frosting. I got the recipe from my Layered cookbook by Tessa Huff but I managed to find the similar recipe from her that is available online. The difference is the use of buttermilk instead of milk and omit the thyme since it's lemon cake. You may also find the recipe of the lemon curd, exactly the same as found in the cookbook. After checking the recipe, I have just realized that I forgot to put butter into my lemon curd, haha.. But my lemon curd tasted ok even though I knew that there's something missing from the taste. I didn't know what because I've found the problem just now, three days after making it, hehehe...

putri cake 6.jpg

Vanilla Swiss Meringue Buttercream

This recipe is enough to fill and to frost an 6 inch (15 cm) three-layer cake.

Ingredients

  • 150 ml egg whites (4-5 large eggs)
  • 250 gr granulated sugar
  • 450 gr unsalted butter, softened, cut into cube
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Methods

  • In a saucepan, bring some water to simmer for bain-marie (double boiler).
  • In a bowl of a stand mixer, place the sugar and egg whites, whisk until well mixed.
  • Place the bowl on the saucepan, make sure the bottom the bowl doesn't touch water. Whisk the sugar-egg whites (meringue) mixture on double boiler, keep whisking until the sugar is completely dissolved. I feel with my fingers to check whether the mixture is ready or not. If it doesn't sandy anymore, you may remove the bowl from double boiler.
  • Using stand mixer fitted with whisk attachment, beat the mixture until it forms medium-stiff peaks on high speed.
  • Lower the speed, add in the unsalted butter, small amount at a time.
  • Add in vanilla extract, beat until the buttercream looks smooth.

putri cake 4.jpg

It was quite hard to work with the buttercream when it's cold outside. I made my buttercream a night before and used it the next morning. I left my buttercream on the counter top but it still solidified. I had to beat my buttercream again so I could spread them easier on my cake. You may warm it up for 5-10 seconds in microwave as well to soften it.

Overall, I was happy with the result though I could do better. Those who tasted this cake said it's so good. So, it's reassuring. I was afraid that it'd be too tangy because there were also lemon simple syrup poured on the each layer of the cake but it's just perfect.

putri cake 2.jpg

Thank you everyone for reading. Wishing you a nice week end and Happy Thanksgiving to those who celebrate :-)

Love,
signature-fonts

PS: All content and images are original and mine. Photos were taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000.

Sort:  

Awww, cantik banget....asli, ini so sweet kuenya. Sayang bikinnya susah untukku yg sering gagal baking ini hahhaa

Makasih mbak @horazwiwik. Ayo dicoba dulu, jangan bilang nggak bisa. Ini gampang kok, beneran.

anu, liat metode bikin kue yg Putri pakai itu udah jiper duluan, soale sekelas chef hahaha...

Haha metode yg mana mbak? Ini metode umum kok, beneran..

itu tuh, bikin buttercream itu, pakai metode yg ada di artikel ini kayaknya susah. ada ngga resep n tutrial buttercream yg super gampang utk wong bodho yg ga iso baking gitu? aku ga pernah sukses bikin buttercream.

yg paling gampang itu American Buttercream mbak, tp itu cuma butter sama gula lho. Dan itu manis banget. Aku sih nggak doyan soalnya beneran kebangetan manisnya. Ini dicoba aja dulu, kliatannya susah tp beneran gampang kok mba.

o, itu istilahnya american buttercream ya. baru tahu hehehe. kalau gulanya dikurangin gimana? tp pernah coba buat kayak gini kenapa menteganya masih kerasa banget menteganya gitu ya? apa kurang dikocok?

Kalo dikurangi bisa ngaruh ke konsistensinya mbak. Dikasih perasa nggak? Aku sih suka rasa butter, dan juga kan buttercream namanya :-D

Alpha V1.0
You can read more here

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.0 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.0 (not yet working)

Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.00/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.0 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Happy belated birthday dear Putri @ikaputri3 - All the best to you and may all your dreams come true. Best, Kini

My dear Kini @steemit-foodie, thank you for the birthday wishes. All the best for you too <3

Happy birthday to you! You bday cake look soo delightful! :)

Thank you @babettxx! Glad that you lke the cake. Unfortunately, it's not vegan so I couldn't share some with you :-)

Un très joyeux anniversaire Putri, je te souhaite tout le bonheur que tu mérites.

Merci beaucoup Christel pour le souhait d'anniversaire! Bises

Happy birthday to you my dear! Your birthday cake looks so beautiful! Am sure the taste is amazing too.

Thanks my dear friend! The cake was surprisingly good, less sweet than I expected.

Glad you enjoyed your birthday! I’ll have to wait another year to give you your daily birthday greetings leading to your special day 😕.

Your cake looks lovely! I like the pink overall look. Funny about that forgotten butter. But since it turned out and it became a healthier lemon curd, maybe it’s a great accidental discovery to exclude it next time again or maybe lessen the quantity? Isn’t that how great discoveries happen 😊?

Hahaha.. I'll be missing your daily birthday greetings.

Oh yeah, that's true. That's actually a good discovery. But, I'm a fan of butter, because it makes everything better :-D

Got all the books opened and too much good things inside. I dont know where to start.

You should open a bakery! I'm serious

Would love to open one. I'll let you know when it comes true :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46