How to Grow Your Own Bean Sprouts in Milk or Juice Carton? - Tutorial

in #food7 years ago

taoge 8.jpg

Yass, the moment that I've been waiting for is here. It's week end!!! Do you have any plan for this week end? Well, I will surely enjoy my week end out side because we have a good weather here in Brussels. It's warm and the sun shines! I will also have a visit from a friend on Sunday, so it'd be so much nicer when you have a good company :-)

Even though it's easy to find bean sprouts in convenient store, I prefer to grow them by myself. In my home country, Indonesia, bean sprouts are sold in different sizes: short, medium, and long. While here, they sell the long one. Also, it's not easy to find the organic one. I find the organic one tastes so much better.

Today I will share with you how to grow your own bean sprouts using milk or juice carton. Why milk or juice carton? Because I drink a lot milk so I end up with loads of milk carton. It's a good way to give my cartons second life by reusing them before recycling. Besides, bean sprouts dont need any lights to growing, so this container is a good environment for them.

Bean Sprouts

What you need

  • 1/3 cup or 80 gr Mung Bean or any other bean that you like
  • 1 liter milk or juice carton

taoge 1.jpg

Directions

  • Cut the top edges to make four small holes. This help the bean sprouts to breathe also it helps us to drain the water without opening the top and to prevent the bean to escape.

taoge 2.jpg

  • Transfer the Mung Bean into the carton using funnel. Since I dont have one, I used a DIY funnel from a piece of paper instead :-D Dont put too much bean inside the carton because they will need rooms to grow.

taoge 3.jpg

  • Fill the the carton with lukewarm water. Put the top on.

taoge 4.jpg

  • Place in the dark place for 12 hours. I put mine in my cupboard.

taoge 5.jpg

  • 12 hours later, drain off the water from the holes that we have made. Then place it back in the dark room again. Water the bean 2 times a day, in the morning and in the evening. Fill in the carton with water, let stand for 30 minutes then drain off the water. Do this process for 4-6 days. The beans will grow everyday and you will feel that the carton will full of bean sprouts.

taoge 6.jpg

  • Below is my bean sprouts on the 3rd day. I will harvest them tomorrow, on the 4th day, because I prefer my bean sprouts this way, not too long. Just cut out the top part of the carton with scissors when you want to harvest them. Pour them in a big bowl filled with water. The skin will float and it's easy to remove :-)

taoge 7.jpg

Even though it's inexpensive to buy bean sprouts, homegrown is always better and it's easy. I hope this information is useful for you.

If you like this post, please dont hesitate to upvote and resteem. Thank you very much for reading.

Have a nice week end,
signature-fonts

All content and photos are original and mine. Photos were taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000.

Sort:  

This is a great post my friend! I just wish all the contestants of SIC get to see this as making your own sprouts and using on your plating is just awesome!
I have been growing my sprouts differently, but yours looks more convenient! I will surely try it out!

Thanks for recommending this post! It's great! Love doing this, I like to make most of my food from scratch!

Thank you chef :-) I've tried another way in growing sprouts but I found this way is the easiest way.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ikaputri3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Hi my dear! You remind me when i was in primary school our teacher made an experimenting on beans, to show us how we can grow up our beans in home, thank you for your informative post .
Happy weekend.

Hi my dear! I made this kind of experiment too when I was in primary but not using the carton. I guess all the kids in the world will do such experiment when they're in primary :-D Thank you for reading my friend! :-)

Coucou @ikaputri3,
Je vais très vite essayer en plus j'adore les haricot mango mais je ne l'ai prends qu'en boites de conserve ! j'ai hate de gouter !

Coucou Christel,
Oui, si tu aimes les germes de soja, ça vaut la peine d'essayer. Je les trouve meilleurs quand on les germe nous-mêmes ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44