Homemade Sunflower Cupcakes with Vanilla Swiss Meringue Buttercream - Recipe

in #food7 years ago (edited)

sunflower cupcakes 1.jpg

Hello everyone,

It's been almost a week that we're having such a grey weather plus rain in Brussels. Such a perfect weather to end summer. Well, though I came from a country where there's a lot sun, I dont want to complain for this gloomy weather since Brussels spoils me when it comes to Belgian fries, chocolate and beers :-)

To brighten up my day, today I created a little ray of sunshine at home by making Sunflower Cupcakes!! I still have some of ingredients from the last time I made cupcakes for my friend, so why not create something with it? I saw loads of these beauties on my Facebook feed and I was just so motivated to recreate them.

sunflower cupcakes 2.jpg

I used Sally's Baking Addiction Recipe for the cupcakes: Super Mois t ChocolateCupcakes, as for bittercream, I used Vanilla Swiss Meringue Buttercream. I love using Swiss Meringue Buttercream because it's less sweet than American Buttercream. I cant stand reading the recipe of American Buttercream because of its amount of sugar. It's just TOO MUCH., especially for me. That is why I want to share with you the recipe of Vanilla Swiss Meringue Buttercream now.

Vanilla Swiss Meringue Buttercream

This recipe is enough to decorate 24 Sunflower Cupcakes.

Ingredients

  • 3 large egg whites
  • 200 gr granulated sugar
  • 340 gr unsalted butter, softened, cut into cube
  • 11/2 tsp vanilla extract

Methods

  • In a saucepan, bring some water to simmer for bain-marie (double boiler).
  • In a bowl of a stand mixer, place the sugar and egg whites, whisk until well mixed.
  • Place the bowl on the saucepan, make sure the bottom the bowl doesn't touch water. Whisk the sugar-egg whites (meringue) mixture on double boiler, keep whisking until the sugar is completely dissolved. I dont have sugar thermometer, so I feel with my fingers to check whether the mixture is ready or not. If it doesn't sandy anymore, you may remove the bowl from double boiler.
  • Using stand mixer fitted with whisk attachment, beat the mixture until it forms medium-stiff peaks on high speed.
  • Lower the speed, add in the unsalted butter, small amount at a time.
  • Add in vanilla extract, beat until the buttercream looks smooth.
  • Ready to use.

sunflower cupcakes 4.jpg

I am quite satisfied with the result of my piping. This was my very first time decorating cupcakes into sunflowers. Though I didn't get the correct color, I still find them beautiful. These cupcakes are made to be shared. I already prepared some for some friends and they will pass by to my home tomorrow to get them :-)

sunflower cupcakes 3.jpg

If you like this post, please do not hesitate to upvote and resteem. Thank you friends for reading.

Cheers,
signature-fonts

All work and photos are original and mine. Photos were taken with my brand new Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 :-)

Sort:  

WoW it looks amazing ! ... as always ;-)

Many thanks @oroger! Wish I could share some with you :-D

I always want to have some cakes when I read your post! Keren!

Come to Brussels and I'll share you some :-) Makasih udah mampir mas @bahagia-arbi!

Wait for me..yaaa ..hehe

Sunflower cupcakes...! What a great idea... Brightens the day, and tasty as well (I'm sure!) I'm looking at that piping and thinking - that's a lot of work! 😯 As usual... looks heavenly! 😋🌻

It looked easy and I was just fine after piping. But now, the next day, my arm hurts!!! :-D Thanks @ackhoo for upvoting and resteeming. You're just the best :-)

You are too kind! Lol... I come to look for goodies on your page - and I know I always will end up hungry after... Hahaha! Hope the baking arm is better already... Definitely lots of work on that piping... (Am drooling after trawling your page...lol) Ok, first I feast my eyes... now off to comment... ;)

I really wish we're close. I gave one batch of these beauties to a friend because I need testers. I built some muscles after doing a lot of piping :-D Well, now I've found my kind of exercises. No need to go to gym, hehe...

Butternya klo diganti margarin biasa bisa ngga? Aq ngga pernah sukses bikin buttercream

Kalo baca2 dr internet sih bisa mbak @horazwiwik. Coba aja mbak. Aku sejak pindah kemari nggak pernah pake margarin lg. Tp kalo dikasih blue band nggak nolak sih, hahaha..

Looks beautiful and delicious, but for sure is something my clumsy hands can't do hehe

Thanks @vadimlasca! You will never know until you try. If I can make it, so can you ;-)

Looks delicious @ikaputri3, following, uupvoted

Indeed, they do look delish :-) Thank you for reading @happyhousewife!

Your so welcome

Oh my goodness - You are crazily talented and I am tempted to jump on the plane, knock on your doorsteps and invite myself into your home to have a bite of this (also all your previous creation)! Truly a talented lady @ikaputri3

Please please jump on the next flight to Brussels! You are most welcome. My pleasure to having you here ;-) Thanks so much for your kind words @steemit-foodie!

Great job on these! I can see you doing poinsettias for Christmas time - just more red on the petals!! Beautiful @ikaputri3!!

Many thanks @jaymorebeet! Oh yeah, I didn't think about poinsettias. The red petals is just amazing.

Congratulations @ikaputri3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow!!! It looks so delicious cupcakes! And the decoration is perfect 👌, more colorful and tasty 😋.
Thank you for the recipe my friend.

Thanks for your nice words my friend! I'd love to give one to Rheem, she would have liked it :-)

You are so sweet my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47