Colorful Fruit Tart - Recipe [Updated]

in #food7 years ago (edited)

fruit tart 7.jpg

Good morning friends,

How are you doing this Sunday? I hope you guys are doing well. Do you have any plan for today? Well, I dont have one :-D Oh actually I have. I'm planning to stay at home, watching movie and just laying around. It's been a quite busy week for me and I need some relax time before starting my routine on Monday.

Yesterday, I made Fruit Tart for my sister in law. She asked me to make a dessert with fruits for her gran's birthday. I added some ginger powder to give kick to the Pâte Sablée (the pie shell) and when it came out from the oven, the ginger smell was quite strong :-D I tasted a bit the raw dough, it was okay. But now I am a bit worried because of the strong smell of ginger. I do hope that they will like it. I am now waiting for the news. I have a good feeling though.

fruit tart 4.jpg

Ingredients

Pâte Sablée

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups rye flour
  • 1 tbsp ginger powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 226 gr cold unsalted butter, cut into cube
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Pastry Cream

  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 egg
  • 42 gr unsalted butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Fruits for Topping

  • 2 cups blackberries
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 2 kiwis , halved and thinly sliced
  • 2 mirabelle plum, halved and thinly sliced
  • some strawberries, hulled and thinly sliced
  • some raspberries

Glaze

  • 2 tbsp mixed berries jam
  • 1 tbsp water

Methods

Pâte Sablée

  • In a small bowl, beat the egg with vanilla extract, set aside.
  • In a food processor, place the all purpose flour, rye flour, ginger powder and salt. Pulse for several times.
  • Add in the cold butter, pulse until well mixed.
  • Add in the egg mixture, pulse until well incorporated.
  • Place onto floured surface, work the dough and flatten into a disk. Cover with cling wrap and chill for at least 30 minutes.
  • Preheat oven to 190°C, take the chilled dough, flatten t, roll it out and place it onto 9 inch removable bottom tart pan.
  • Line the top of the tart with parchment paper and fill it with pie weights to cover the tart.
  • Bake for 15 minutes then remove the parchment paper and the pie weight, bake again for another 10 minutes.
  • Remove from the oven and let it cool.

fruit tart 1.jpg

fruit tart 2.jpg

Pastry Cream

  • In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, sugar and cornstarch. Add in one egg and beat them until well mixed.
  • In a saucepan, place the milk and bring it to boil over medium heat.
  • Pour half of the hot milk into the egg mixture, mix it well and then pour it back to the saucepan.
  • Keep whisking until the mixture is thickened.
  • Remove from the heat, add in the butter and vanilla extract. Mix it well.
  • Pour in medium bowl and cover the pastry cream with cling wrap to prevent a skin from forming. Leave it cool in the fridge.

Glaze

  • In a small bowl, place the mixed berries jam and water, put it in microwave for about 30 seconds.
  • Stir it until well mixed. You may sieve the mixture but I didn't to that.
  • Set aside.

fruit tart 3.jpg

ASSEMBLING

  • Fill the cooled pie shell with the pastry cream. Using a spatula, smooth it up.
  • Place the fruit on top of the cream. From the outer rim, I started it out with blackberries, blueberries, kiwis, mirabelle plums, strawberries and raspberries.
  • Brush with the glaze.

fruit tart 6.jpg

What do you think about the tart? It's beautiful and so colorful, right? And oh, I am sorry for using both metrics (US and normal metrics), using cups and grams especially to those who dont have measuring cups. I have tried to weigh manually every ingredients that I used in cups so that I can write the recipe with both US metrics and normal metrics. But then, I got distracted and I just lost it. Hope next time I'll do better.

fruit tart 8.jpg

UPDATE

Earlier when I wrote this post, I was worried with the strong ginger smell and I was afraid that it'd be too "spicy". But now I am relieved. I've just received a text message from my sister in law saying that everyone loved it and it tastes as good as it looks. I'm just so happy :-)

Screenshot_20170910-175630~2.png

If you like this post, please dont hesitate to upvote and resteem. Thank you everyone for reading.

Best,
signature-fonts

PS: All works and photos are original and mine. Photos were taken with Nikon P610.

Sort:  

Wow ur assembling of fruits is amazing...superb.fantastic..... I will resteem ur post

Thank you for your kind words and for your support @chanchal85! :-)

This looks delicious..I bet it tastes so too. Nice post

Well I tried them separately; the crust, the pastry cream and the fruits. I am sure it's better when you eat all of them together :-D Thank you for dropping by @winarobert!

Look yummy 😘 I love it !

Thank you @a-alice! Indeed, it looks yummy! :-)

Followed you 😆

Thanks! I'll check yours :-)

Wow! It looksso yummy my dear! The variety of fruits make the tart colorful and shiny, give a perfect look to it, am sure that they will like.
Happy Sunday.

Thank you dear @creativewoman! I do hope they'll like it. Thank you for reading and have a nice Sunday too!

I'm definitely sure that the ginger will give an amazing kick to this lovely tart my friend! You are really very talented, impressed again!!!
You post are just awesome each and everytime!

Thanks chef! You reassure me :-) I've been planning on my entries for the contests in which you're the judge. Oh my! Such a challenging theme :-D I hope you have a nice Sunday with your family :-)

Simply beautiful- the pattern and the colors and of course the gorgeous recipe. I bet they loved it- and that the ginger in the tart crust put the tart over the top. Great work friend! Resteemed!

Million thanks @jaymorebeet! I haven't heard from them yet but I'm pretty sure they will like it. Thanks as well for resteeming. You're the best! :-)

Cantik banget jeng, spt yang buat ❤️

Aduh mbak Nina, jadi malu kalo dipuji gitu :-)

Deligious food and keep it up

Thank you @nomishiekh! I will ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58092.36
ETH 2469.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38