Vegetable curry one pot wonder recipe & toddlers learning self expression

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Toddlers expressing their feelings can be so adorable... and at times painful!

Last night after getting dinner started, the famous vegetable curry one pot wonder to be precise, I saw my son contemplating hitting me. You see he's in a new 'I wanna bite you' stage and when I tell him no he gets very upset. So there we were... mother son stand off... him with his mouth open ready to chomp and hand raised ready to wack me and then there was me, standing back telling him no and reminding him that either of those options would hurt me. Then I showed him the effects of his biting, for he had just a few days ago bit me. So hard in fact that my nipple was all bloody, bruised and raw. So I still had the evidence of his abuse to use as an example thankfully... well kinda thankfully... hahahaha. He thoughtfully looked and then changed his mind. He instead first kissed my boo boo then kissed my lips and gave me a big hug. But he sorta did it in a violent way. Lol. After he sweetly kissed my wounded breast he head-butted kissed my face with such intensity I felt lightly bruised and kinda body slammed hugged me. Lol. He is a freakishly strong little boy.

image.jpeg

I love watching him process his emotions and making decisions on what actions he wants to use to demonstrate these emotions. Every sweet and not so sweet little thought is so obvious as it washes over his face. "I'm going to bite mom! No, I love mom! But I'm frustrated about this!" Bahahaha!

image.jpeg

So days like these where kai is being just a bit... well as my sister would say... a bit extra I like to make dinner a bit extra too! Extra easy that is! I call tonight's dish our one pot wonder! Really it's just a slow cooker vegetable curry but one pot wonder is more fun to say. Hehehe.

image.jpeg

The ingredients are 4 potatoes, 1 large carrot, 2 onions, 4 cloves garlic, about 3 large fingers fresh turmeric, 1 head broccoli, 1 head cauliflower, table spoon salt, table soon pepper, 2 table spoons curry powder, 1 teaspoon turmeric, 2-3 cups coconut milk, fresh lime juice and cilantro.

image.jpeg

Cut the onions in half then slice thin and toss it in the slow cooker. Chop the garlic finely and toss it in the slow cooker with the onions. De skin and chop the turmeric in large chunks so you can remove after cooking and yet again toss them in the slow cooker. Grate 2 potatoes with the large side of the cheese grater and half of the carrot and put that in the pot as well. Dice up the rest of the carrot and the remaining potatoes and add to the rest of the ingredients. Add the salt, pepper, curry powder and turmeric powder, then fill with water. Just enough water that everything is covered then turn on high and wait till potatoes are almost tender then add your broccoli and cauliflower and cook for another 20-30 minutes or until all your vegetables are nice and tender. Add your coconut milk and more salt, pepper and curry powder to taste. Serve over rice. Or over rice noodles. Or over anything else you prefer. Or on its own. Up to you. Then add a squeeze of fresh lime juice and some fresh cilantro and enjoy! Make it extra special by adding diced temphe and whatever your favorite vegetables during the broccoli cauliflower stage. It's guaranteed to be a crowd pleaser! Oh and this recipe serves about 6 and reheats amazingly! Though if you would like to save for the next day as I do I add the coconut milk to each individual bowl instead of the whole pot. Coconut milk, especially heated coconut milk goes bad quickly so there's my leftovers tip cause who doesn't love leftovers!? If you decide to try this recipe let me know in the comments how it turned out! Lots of love to you all! 😘

image.jpeg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing the recipe, sounds and looks delicious!

Thanx for stopping by and showing some love! ❤️

Thanx for stopping by and supporting me! 😘

Haha! Kai is so cute @iamjamie. :-D
There are so many things in this dish. And very colorful too! A tasty Vegan Meal. :-) Great job.

Definitely tasty and he's for sure a little cutie hehehehe! Thank you so much for dropping some love on my post! ❤️

Oh Mama - how nourishing and totally YUM!!! Yup - I remember well those experimental chomps on the nipples... ouch!! Your meal looks simple and reminds me that I should also make a one-pot-curry-wonder one day this week. It has been too long. :)

It's always so yummy! I love my slow cooker so much! Set it and forget it! My kinda meal lol! And yes! Ouch indeed! He's a little piranha I swear!

I adore my slow cooker too - use it for legumes soooo often. And dahl. And all kinds of things. Even carrot cake. And pumpkin cake. :)

WOW! Carrot cake is my absolute fav! Teach me your ways oh wise one! 🍰🙌🏼

Haha... ok - the gauntlet has been laid down to create a VEGAN carrot cake, photograph it and create a steemit post from it. My oh my, Miss Ploi will be happy!! :)

I'm so jealous of her right now! Lol! I wish my mom would bake me a vegan carrot cake! Ugh!

haha... gonna fiddle with my usual 'recipe' (don't really use recipes much but have a simple methodology that I adapt and change as I feel) to make it vegan for you. :)

I have I can't cant wait! Drooling at the thought! YUM!

Looks yum! Will Kai eat this? I can say with certainty Esteban would not. He's not an easy fellow to please right now when it comes to nutritious food. I think perhaps he has already learned too much about the world of non nutritious snacks!

This is one of Kais favorites actually! He's pretty easy to please. Pretty much anything that I eat he eats but he also doesn't have the choice of non nutritious snacks and what not as we don't but those things. Only thing we do get is popcorn which he loves but from the most part he would choose broccoli over most things. As for Esteban I'm sure he will grow out of this stage! Kai went through a stage where he would only eat potatoes and cookies lol. Granteed the cookies were just banana and oats but still. Lol. Thankfully that stage didn't last long!

child abuse from a different perspective :D That little one is one with some attitude just there hahahaha

The curry looks like the bomb...When in doubt, curry is just the solution to everything hehe

Bahahaha! When in doubt curry it out! Love that! It's so my life! Lol!

Hehehe same here...

'Again I dont know what to make for dinner...okay curry it is'

:D

😂😂😂

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61068.10
ETH 2655.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58