Fuego Box Hot Sauce Review

in #food6 years ago

IMG_0485.JPG

I'm going to take a brief break from my normal music post tonight because one of my favorite days of the month has finally arrived: the delivery of my monthly Fuego Box!

I'm normally not one to do box subscriptions, but this last Christmas my wife surprised me with one of these because I've always been a massive hot sauce fanatic. A little goes on everything and since variety is the spice of life, this is really one of the most perfect subscriptions for me. This is box number 4 that has arrived and I've been pretty happy with the results so far. A good bit of heat and a little of me being pushed outside of my comfort zone food wise as I've been introduced to some great sauces that I wouldn't have tried otherwise. It's even inspired me to make my own hot sauce at home.

IMG_0482.jpg

As always, I'm treated to some nice packaging. I get a little excited each time opening these. I seriously love my hot sauce.

IMG_0484.jpg

Each of the boxes I order come with 3 sauces each week. Sometimes with a couple of packets for traveling included.

IMG_0483.jpg

One of the things I really appreciate are the descriptions. I know it doesn't exactly add anything to the flavor, but the personal descriptions are a nice touch and help me to understand a little more about the ethos of the companies that I'm getting.

Without further ado, my initial thoughts on this months sauces.

IMG_0489.JPG

First up is PexPepper's Pueblo Red. Of the three sauces, this one is the most mild. There is a real sense of richness about this one with a nice garlic and onion taste, but the real star is those pueblo chillies. It's just got a richness to this that will be nice when I want a kick of heat without burning my tongue out.

IMG_0488.JPG

Clark + Hopkin's Ethiopia comes next in the tasting. This is definitely the spiciest of the bunch. My experience with ethiopian food is limited to one time in Portland a few years ago, but moments after hitting my tongue I remembered how much I liked the Berbere curry that I tasted that night. It gives it this great earthy vibe that while spicy, has the flavors that I really expect out of a high end hot sauce. Being the heat lover that I am, this is an early favorite.

IMG_0487.JPG

Lastly but not least comes Queen Majesty's Jalapeño, Tequila, and Lime Hot Sauce. This is definitely something that I normally wouldn't have tried but I'm glad I did. Normally, each box will contain a sauce that airs a bit more on the sweeter side giving me a nice bit of variety. Fresh is the optimum word for this sauce (tasting like the refined version of the sauce I recently made at home). There is a depth here that is impressive and a surprising amount of sweetness thanks to the touch of green apple that works surprisingly well here. Another winner!

Overall, I just thought it would be fun to write about something other than music tonight. Fuego Box isn't going to be everyone's thing, but for me personally, it's the variety I need to make food continually interesting and definitely worth the price of admission for me.

https://www.fuegobox.com

Sort:  

Congratulations @iamevilradio! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 500 posts. Your next target is to reach 550 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85