An Ode to Hummus (with recipe)

in #food8 years ago

Really, is there anything better?

hummus-1058000_640.jpg

I grew up on hummus, baba ghanoush and olives. My typing is currently punctuated by pauses to dip tortilla chips in a dish of garbanzo bean and tahini paste. Smooth. Garlicky. Delicious. The perfect complement to the first day it feels like Fall. There is a cool breeze where I am.

People, I am living the dream. And I want to share.

I've been making hummus for years. Why spend $4-5 dollars on a few ounces when you can make it by the pound in a food processor for the same price?

I like to freeze my hummus is ice cube or baby food trays. That way I can pop out one to two blocks, warm them up and enjoy them with carrots, cucumbers or french fries. Haven't tried hummus and french fries? It's the food of the gods. Step to it! I mean, I know hummus has been part of diet crazes since it was discovered by the West, but there is no reason you have to commit to good health when eating it.

french-fries-1351062_640.jpg

Want to try your hand at homemade hummus? Here's a recipe:

@honeyscribe Hummus

2 cans garbanzo beans (30 oz)
3 cloves garlic
1/2 cup tahini paste
1/4 cup olive oil
juice of 1/2 lemon
salt to taste

Blend in a food processor until smooth. Adjust seasonings to your preference. Enjoy!

Sort:  

yummy!

om nom. :)

Probably very tasty :)

DEFINITELY very tasty. ;)

Yes, that is our national proud)) Thanks for promoting :-)

:)

out of curiosity: why the french fries photo ?

Because french fries and hummus are a match made in Heaven.

ah never tried them together :)

I highly recommend it. :)

I love Hummus too! My family is Syrian so it was a staple growing up.

In America, we have an issue with restaurants serving Hummus cold. I'm used to it being served room temperature or warm. Who likes it cold?

Also, its pronounced KCHOOOOMOOOS, with the throaty CHHHH, not HUMIS

Blessed hummus! It's a staple for us.
Thanks for sharing!

COOL TWISTS HERE
GOOD POST

Wow that just sounds so amazing. My car doesn't work so im actually walking to wallmart some 5miles away just for these ingredents... Can't wait for the hummus and fries.
Pray I make it.

I never went as far as making hummus, but I certainly love a good plate of hummus.

Nothing better than Homous!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56