What is the strangest thing you've ever eaten?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

An insect, brain or eye of an animal, raw meat? What is the strangest thing you've ever eaten?

In my case, the strangest thing I've ever eaten is an uncooked (raw) shellfish. It looks like this from the inside. What I ate was that white meat inside, which to my surprise, was quite tasty!


image source

I ate it after grabbing some shellfish during a Scuba dive. Actually, believe it or not, its quite common for Scuba divers to eat that portion raw.

However, before you try eating this thing, you must know that it has dangers associated with it. According to this article, eating raw shellfish can cause serious illness or even death due to Vibriosis infection. The likelihood of catching this disease is even more in summer. Moreover, people who have diseases such as Cancer, Diabetes, Liver disease and weakened immune system are at an increased risk.

Sort:  

Once I ate raw crab. Maybe, That was not strangest at all. In my younger age, I and my friends used to believe eating raw crab gives the power to learn swimming easily. Now, I laugh finding that believing such nonsense was the most silly things I ever believed.

Eating raw crab giving power to learn swimming, hahaha! Good that you have now stopped believing in such superstitious things :)

There are many things we used to believe during our childhood. That was one of them. Now I think My childhood was awesome anyway.
Will be in touch with you. Followed you.

While doing jungle survival training in USMC. Philippine jungles. Or guide had a dog with us and that dog caught a large alto lizard. This was the most flavorful meat I have every tasted with nothing put onto it. Second best is white tail deer.

I've had some amazing venison sausage but I'd normally rather eat beef than venison.

I was veggie until once I ate pork meat. It was tasty and now I eat goat, chicken, buff and pork meat. Many to be tasted soon😀

Very interesting question. Waiting to see what others will post... ;)

I also tried a raw shellfish once in my teenage days. I don't remember the taste and feeling anymore. My friend scratched few off the rocks at a beach and persuaded me to try. Supposedly it was safe to eat them... :|

I ate some kiwano fruit.

Saw its picture on the internet. Funny looking fruit :)!

That's for sure! lol Had a real interesting texture and the taste was interesting although not that great. I wish I could get to eat way more tropical fruit.

Excellent post.

You got a 2.20% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @hmushtaq!

Wow greate article!
You just got a 16.03% upvote from @postdoctor!
Thanks for using the @postdoctor service!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57158.90
ETH 2411.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28