Sort:  

I know, that is insane. We are on such a broken system. They need to make nutrition part of academics in all schools imo. People have no idea. I have owned a health food store for the last 10 years and licensed as a nutritionist for close to 20 years and I have seen and heard it all. I really feel bad for the general public. No amount of health care will hold the coming generations unless we see massive change happen.

Yeah it's tough since everybody has different opinions on what is healthy. I agree with you that focusing on nutrition is a great way to reduce the impact of health care funding / costs.

The easiest way to put it in a nutshell is a sentence I heard in a recent documentary, and it resinated with me and everything I have studied and researched in close to a 30 year period. " Eat food like your ancestors ate, mostly plants, not too much". That sentence right there covers all your bases. I could right endless books on that sentence. Because vegans say that animal fats cause insulin resistance by blocking the insulin receptors, people that are deep into intermittent fasting like Dr Jason Fung say that constant secretion of insulin by the pancreas causes resistance. In the same way that we build resistance to caffeine, to alcohol, or to antibiotics or drugs. Basically your receptors becoming desensitized to the comunication with insulin. Then lowcarb people say that elevated sugar in the blood damages the receptors. All 3 have 1 thing they agree on: more food= more oxidative stress, which in turn = death. Do this really i teresting test, how many 90+ year old fat men can you remember. Before you tell me the answer I will tell you 0. Insulin Resistance was just getting started back then. We are living in some exciting times grab some popcorn and enjoy the show.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54