My favorite snack: Sweet Potato Fries!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

soetpotet.png

I love the sweet taste and crunchy texture! I make these almost once a week, and I serve them just by them selves or with salad and BBQ food.

INGREDIENTS
2 Sweet Potatoes
3tbs Maizena
2-3 tbs Canola Oil
salt

I start by peeling the Sweet Potatoes.
soetpotet3.png

Then I cut them into slices.
soetpotet2.png

Then I add them in a bowl with water.
soetpotet4.png

I let it rest in the fridge for at least three hours so that a lot of the starch leaves the Sweet Potatoes. I also change the water once.
soetpotet5.png

Then I prepare them for the oven by rinsing of the water and dab dry them. I put them in a plastic bag and add three tbs of Maizena. I close the bag and shake well... Open the bag again and add 2-3 tbs of Canola Oil, and a little salt and shake again.

Then I place them on the frying pan, I make sure there's a little space between each piece.
soetpotet1.png

In the middle of the oven 225 c (hot air) for 15-20 minutes, preferably a few minutes grill function in the end, and their done!
soetpotet6.png

I wish I had a great picture of it served with a nice dip, but I don't so this will do... I usually make my own dip with quark and my favorite spices, somewhat healthy!

I think you should try!

:) Helen

Sort:  

I make sweet potato fries at least twice a week, we love them! I've never tried resting them in the fridge, but it seems a great idea to get rid of the starch. Thanks for the tip! ;)

My pleasure! I'm glad you love Sweet Potatoes as well :) I believe resting them in water makes it easier for them to turn crispy on the outside. How do you make yours? Do they turn out crispy without resting? :)

This looks very delicious!

Thanks! It is, and I think you should try it out. It just need some planning, but preparation time isn't that long. I could eat this every day :)

Thanks for sharing, you get an upvote from me!

I like sweet potatoe and it is healthy too , especially for the pancreas! https://steemit.com/pancreas/@miguelr/sweet-potato-and-the-pancreas

Thank you! Sweet Potatoes are so great because they can be used for so many things! I just love it! Being healthy is a big bonus! :)

What difference does putting them in the fridge make? Does it change the taste or texture?

I just learned it that way, that they should be soaking in cold water, and then it's easier to have them crispy because some of the starch leaving the Sweet Potatoe. It's hard to get the fries crispy other wise.

Thanks for that I’ll try it, crispy is always better.

Søtpoteter er en helt super grønnsak, så jeg kan se for meg at søtpotetfries er knallgodt! Jeg må definitivt prøve ut oppskriften din en gang :)

Ja, det er supergodt og anbefaler det på det sterkeste. Jeg har i hvertfall dilla!

Naaam! Elsker søtpotet. Det er seriøst min favorittingrediens!

Samme her! Alt blir godt med søtpotet! :)

Denne posten passet helt perfekt! De har begynt å selge søtpotet fries i kantina på skolen og helt siden jeg smakte det ble jeg helt obsessed, kjøpte inn søtpoteter igår for å lage selv, så da passet det jo utmerket at du skrev denne posten, kommer til å bruke tips fra deg ;) Skal si ifra hvordan de blir :)

Så hyggelig å høre! Har du rukket å teste det ut? Ser frem til å høre hvordan de ble :)

Nei har ikke det, har det litt travelt de neste dagene men får se om jeg får tid, skal si ifra! :)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62816.09
ETH 2466.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64