Would You Like The Robot To Serve You In A Restaurant?

in #food7 years ago

IMG_20170515_124700.jpg

With the development of science and technology, great changes have taken place in our life. More and more robot have already walked into our life. Such as sweeping machine, robots that wash windows are now widely used at home.

In the recent two years, there appears a phenomenon that robot replace the waiter in restaurants in China (As we all know, during the Spring Festival, the recruiting workers from society is very difficult. So the robot plays a important role ). As a new form of business, service robots are blooming everywhere.

So, how dose it work?

IMG_20170515_124652.jpg

According to the geography, laid the navigation bar at the ground and set the location of table and turning, automatic identification, then it will deliver some dishes to the side of the specified table, and you need to take it down. This sounds simple and easy.

So, let's look at it in details. I would like to share with you robot working in the restaurant. These photos were shot at Star Mole Shopping Mall a few days ago when I had lunch with my colleagues.

IMG_20170515_115126.jpg

When we walked in the hall of the first floor, there were not many peoples in it. Since restaurants are on the third floor, So we took the elevator to the third floor directly.

IMG_20170515_115813.jpg

IMG_20170515_120535.jpg

Walking out of the elevator, we had a quick eye for the noodle restaurant, because It is close to the elevator.

IMG_20170515_120135_1.jpg

IMG_20170515_120159.jpg

Waiter gave us the menu, we glanced over it quickly.
IMG_20170515_121126.jpg

and then we ordered noodles with green kidney bean sauce, rice with black pepper beef ,braised bamboo shoots,mushroom pork balls, assorted meat cold dishes, sweet stewed snow pear with jasmine. Except the drinking, other dishes served up one after another.

IMG_20170515_122118.jpg

IMG_20170515_122603.jpg

It can deliver the dish to the side of the table, needs you to take it down and then you clap on its head, it will return.
Isn't it fantastic?

IMG_20170515_122618.jpg
after a while, all the dishes are served. Not because the service is too slow and the dishes are served cold.
IMG_20170515_122700.jpg

I love this bamboo shoots very much. It tastes crisp with a bit of spicy. Whether it is cold and dressed with sauce , fried or for the soup when cooking, taste are refreshing and tender . It is one of the favorite food in spring for people and has rich nutrition.

IMG_20170515_122754.jpg

The mushroom pork balls is also delicious. I'm going to do it myself at home someday.

![IMG_20170515_122722.jpg]
()

IMG_20170515_122635.jpg

So, I think the good of using robot is that the restaurant remains popular, especially for child. In the mean time, can lower the manpower cost and can deliver dishes in time. To customers, the faster the better.

Of cause, there still exist some disadvantage. Such as when deliver drinking, it will probably overflow. So it still need to improve continually and serve for the human better.
We will see.

Thank you for reading.
My previous post is about food, nature, travel and art..
If you like it, don't forget to upvote and follow me

@helene.

Sort:  

I think it is a great development that it is possible for robots to take over these kind of actions from humans. Yet when I am at a restaurant, I like the fact that my waiter is human and the possibility to have a bit of small talk, so I still prefer humans over robots!

@attilatahun, you are right. most people like the quiet place . running robot make a little of sound. if it is quiet, it is more popular.

Hahaha. Nice. I prefere human waiters but indeed cool :-)

@lichtblick haha, yes, thank you for your reply .

You are very welcome @helene :-)

Interesting point to note on this subject - as I was taking my choices doing my honours degree at the Open University in UK they had ZERO courses in Robotics! - none! I checked!

@mrscabby, oh, that must be a interesting courses..:) thank you for your comment.

It would be a terrible loss to take the human element out of the service industry. We need to have a great deal of restraint when it comes to using technology in this way.

@roadkill, thank you for your comment . I think it depends on the customer's needs finally. If customers are satisfied with it , it will goes well. otherwise, it will probably be eliminated.

Sometimes I think the human waiters act like robots. lol

@solarguy, haha, sounds interesting.

a robot can't spit in your soup.

@everittdmickey, yes, can't spit. I said it probably spill the drinking when it works. thank you for your reply.

are you anthropomorphizing?
why...why...I'm speechless.
How COULD you.?

sorry

simple.. a mere sesquipedalian comment regarding your penultimate perfidious cynosure of the cybernetic.

In China, this condition had took place in some restaurant. they even cancel the service of robot. the quality was not good .

is that true?
or did you hear it on CNN, BBC, MSNBC, NBC, CBS, or ABC?

Yes, I learned it from the news of network media in China.

Great Post!!

upvoted u and follow u
and I will do anything for u if u give me a robot as a gift.
lol

@nitinchugh, haha, You seem to like robots very much..thank you for your support.

it's scary that robots are getting replaced human quietly. Lot's of human jobs gonna replaced to robot very soon, actually. that's sad... btw I love your posting I like to read this kind of posts!^^

@ramengirl, Don't be sad. I think this is progress if robots do well. thank you for your kind words. :)

At least you don't have to tip! Or if you do, you might get a gum ball back...

@hitheryon, yes.. Thank you for your reply.

Really, I think I would rather a person still serve me. But then again I use self checkout stations to avoid lines, so perhaps I would be okay with it. I WANT to support humans doing work though.

@justtryme90, yes, a person serving us can communicate better, serve more intimately than robots in some respects..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58092.36
ETH 2469.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38