Purple "Juicy Fruit" Wings "The Taste is Gonna Move Ya When You Pop it in Your Mouth!" (Vegan/Gluten Free) ๐Ÿ˜

in #food โ€ข 7 years ago

Juicy Fruit Wings? Saucy, crispy, deliciously beautiful wings (hold the chicken) that are better than the real deal!

My best friend is attempting transitioning to a vegan diet but she loves chicken wings! As her non-official nutritional fairy god-mother, I made this delicious substitute for her and am happy to share it with you (PS: her favorite color is purple!)

Wings used to be my jam back in the day before I changed my own diet. I was a champion at wing night, scarfing down as many pieces as I could, in every flavor as a party trick. Obviously times have changed but my love of food never has and you all know by now how much I love me the foods I used to know!


IMG_0735.JPG


If you've been [hanging around my posts, you might have seen that I LOVE color in my foods! (Click here to see more about that) I strive to keep a healthy balanced rainbow on my plate at all times. Sure white has it's place on the menu but purple just seemed much more fun!

I realized it wasn't the chicken that I liked so much, more so the texture and the delicious sauce so how should I replicate it?

Well, I decided to get really creative... I didn't want just a buffalo sauce or something 'normal' so I went for a different avenue- hot and sweet at the same time!

Did you know that one of the most well-known brands of chewing gum got it's name from a tropical fruit called 'jack fruit'? Well, Juicy Fruit mimicked the taste of this delicious fruit and so, today using the chewy, yellow fruit, we have a juicy-fruity, delicious sauce to go with our wings!


jack fruit.jpg
(I forgot to take a picture of this really cool fruit so I had to grab one off the interwebs to show you what it looks like!)
Source:


I bet you're hungry, let's get started


What You Need:


Wings

  • 1 head of cauliflower (chopped and washed)

Gluten-Free Batter

  • 1/2 cup non-dairy milk (I used almond)
  • 3/4 cup gluten free flour (I used purple sweet potato flour to give them color!)
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp coriander powder
  • 1 tbsp black pepper
  • 1-2 tbsp cayenne pepper
  • Sea salt (to taste)

Juicy Fruit Hot Sauce

  • 1/2 cup jack fruit
  • 5 tomatoes
  • 6-8 shallots
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1-2 peppers (I used 2)
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp coriander
  • fresh cilantro
  • 1 tbsp black strap molasses
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil

What To Do:


Wings:


  • Chop your rinsed cauliflower into 'wing' sized pieces like this:

IMG_0719.JPG


  • Mix together the batter ingredients (almond milk, sweet potato flour, and spices) then pour onto uncooked wings:

IMG_0724.JPG


  • If you have an oven (it would be ideal to bake your wings) however, I don't have one so I had to fry mine in coconut oil. I know frying is not the most healthy option ever but we've done the best we can given our situation and cravings!)
  • If you're frying like me, put your battered up wings in some coconut oil and keep tossing them until they start to crisp!

IMG_0725.JPG


Sauce:


  • Let's make it easy! Put everything into a food processor! (It's a good idea to chop your peppers first so they actually blend up otherwise you might/will end up with pieces of extra hot!)

IMG_0726.JPG


  • Blend until you get a thick paste!
  • Put your paste in a covered sauce pan on medium until you get some action then turn to low, simmering for about 15-20 mins.

Serve the sauce, warm on the side to retain the purple color! Enjoy your purple wings! These are a great party snack and perfect recipe for anyone thinking about trying out a vegan diet!


IMG_0749.JPG


Sending you love through (plant-based/vegan) food, as always! If you are new here, it's great to have you here!
I am obsessed with food as you'll surely see, and I am a strong believer in the power it has within it, and the ability it has to heal us! I aim to inspire through my recipes and posts and hope to connect with you here, through your heart. Some say the way to the heart is through the stomach, I 100% agree with that theory ;)
I believe in sharing what makes the heart happy, if you'd like to see more, come on by @heart-to-heart!๐Ÿ˜˜
Here are some easy ways to make changes in your diet if you want to check it out!

PS: I am also running veganwednesday challenge every week! See here for more details on how to participate (and win by sharing some love!)

Until next time,
XO,
๐ŸŠ๐Ÿ‰๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ‹๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ๐ŸŽ


HeartToTable Logo2-2.jpg
hearttoheart signature.png

Sort: ย 

Now that't the rainbow baby I love fresh jack fruit @veganwednesday definitely going to be keeping me busy with so many recipes I want to try.

I am all about as many colours as I can get (am willing to make them colourful if need be) ;)I agree with you, judging always makes me so hungry <3 You guys are so awesome with all of your yummy recipes!

That looks delicious! I love the pulled bbq jackfruit I've had as well as the spicy cauliflower wings. Looks like you have the best of both worlds here!

Oh my goodness, I love both of those items so much as well and they were amazing combined <3 I definitely suggest it! I make pulled jackfruit everything <3

Love this recipe!!! The only drawback is that jackfruit is very, very expensive here. And they are usually huge!! Have to find a couple of friends to share one with :)

Oh darn! I can only imagine- jackfruits grow to be like 20-30 pounds no problem here! I am lucky a stand near my house sells it in sections when they have it so I can just grab a bit at a time (I really am not a fan of processing it but have done it many a times in the past to get the deliciousness!)
Come here and we'll share <3

Deal!! As long as they let me into the country :)

Resteemed and upvoted :)

<3 Awww thank you, I owe you a jackfruit-y meal whenever we finally meet :)

Great post as always! Looks so good! :)
I have been so curious to try jackfruit! Unfortunately I am never able to find it where I live.

Oh no, you've never had it? That hurts my stomach to think of! It's sooo yummy and I was never even a fan of the sweet gum! I saw a ton of it in Texas when I was living there, I think it's becoming more widespread as veganism grows... just keep an eye out maybe one day it'll show up <3

My aunt was actually in Texas when she got some and took a video of her prepping it.. it looked so good I immediately wanted some!! :) My grandma had said there was some in a can but I don't know, I don't think it would compare to the fresh taste, and it might turn me away from it. I'm going to keep my eyes open, and maybe one day I'll get lucky and find some :)

Hmmm I'd beware of the can as well but I do hope you get to try it ;)

Great idea! I love jackfruit - but I've only ever had it dried, so i'm definitely missing out on the 'juicy' aspect of it! :) i love using cauliflower as a vehicle for yummy sauces because it's nutritious and also fairly neutral in taste. Great recipe - you're so inventive!

I actually am not he biggest fan of the dried version, the juicy fruit ;) kind is AMAZING! We need to figure out how to get you some, maybe we trade the jack fruit for the unicorn cake and get the postal service to hate us ;)
The batter on the 'wings' made them delicious on their own but the sauce was soooo much better than I thought!

Ahhhh looks so tasty. Wonderful work.
Cauliflower is rad. My wife made pizza crust out of it one time.

Plus...
The taste is gonna, gonna, moo ooove ya!

I made the best pizza I have ever had with cauliflower too! It took me over 3 hours to try to figure out but the taste was super worth it in the end ;)

You should hug your wonderful wife, it's a challenge getting it right ;)

Food good

This looks sooo good! Thanks for sharing!

You are so welcome, it was delicious and such a fun twist <3

Wow! I love it! These plates are suitable for the people who makes diet, and vegan food is healthy food, bravo, awesome idea.

Thanks @creativewoman, I love being able to share these delicious options of vegan food <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62