One Pot Chicken Corn Chowder, Healthy and Delicious.

in #food7 years ago

I love chowder style soups. Growing up in new England, I was a huge fan of New England Clam Chowder. The fattier and creamier the better. Now that I am older and trying to watch what I eat more carefully, I like to experiment with some of those traditional favorite recipes and tweak some things to make them healthier for my arteries and waist line. This Corn Chowder was one I was really happy with on its first run.

IMG_4997.PNG
Ingredients:
2 cups diced carrots
1 tbsp of thyme
1/4 cup of diced tomatoes
1/2 a diced red onion
8 cloves of minced garlic
1/2 tsp of black pepper
1/2 a diced red bell pepper
6 non cured nitrate free strips of bacon diced
1 large Jalapeño minced
2 cups of diced potatoes
1/4 cup of minced fresh parsley
1 lb of chicken breast cubed
2 cups of almond or coconut milk
3 cups of organic corn
2 tsp of smoked paprika

IMG_4998.PNG
IMG_5001.PNG
IMG_5004.PNG
Start by rendering the fat from the bacon until it shrinks and all the fat is melted. Then Add your garlic and diced onion and cook until they become frgrant and the inion soft and translucent, then add your chicken and cook for 4-5 minutes until browned on the outside before adding in the rest of the dry ingredients. Cook the dry ingredients and stir them for 5 minutes to marry all the flavors.

IMG_5007.PNG
Then add your coconut or almond milk at the end and stir, then cover and cook for 30-40 minutes on medium heat.

IMG_4997.PNG
Serve with Shredded Cheese, Diced Jalapeños if you like heat, and a few sprinkles of smoked paprika.


Complete Detailed Recipe Video from our Healthy Recipe Channel on Youtube.

Sort:  

Yum.I could do without the bacon though.

eally like your post, and I hope you also like my post ... Thank you for following me.@ulish07

wow!! Thats nice. Follow you. Please follow me back

Word of friendly advice, dont do that. It is annoying to most people. If you dont have something genuine to comment do not comment. It will get you further.

I just ate breakfast but my mouth is watering just reading this recipe :(

Haha, you got to love a good Chowder with a nice smoky bacon base. I actually have to look and remember each of these recipes as I post them, talk about mouth watering lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65809.08
ETH 3604.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54