Home Made Mayonnaise, with 3 Ingredients not the Junk from Store Loaded with Chemicals made with GMO Soybean Oil

in #food7 years ago

So many people today do not understand how to read labels from the shelf, and are eating food like ingredients that are harming their long term health every day. Mayonnaise is one of those things that if you really knew how it is made you probably would never eat it. The main ingredient in 99% of store bought mayo is GMO soybean oil. If you don't believe me go look at the label. Along with that comes a never ending list of preservatives to increase shelf life and reduce your life in the long term. Why not buy some organic eggs, organic light tasting olive oil, sea salt, and a lime and make your own?
IMG_4579.PNG

IMG_4590.PNG
Ingredients:
1 egg yolk
1 cup of extra light tasting olive oil
Sea salt to taste
1 lime wedge

IMG_4573.PNG
IMG_4574.PNG
Drizzle the olive oil in Slowly and mix in with an electric hand mixer. This is very important, if you add oil too fast it will break the mayo and you will have salad dressing.

IMG_4579.PNG
Mix in your lime and salt to your tasting and you are all set to put in a jar and place in the fridge. It will stay good for 10 days or so.

Once you taste this Mayo you will never be able to eat the junk they are selling at the store again.

Sort:  

You're absolutely right about people eating potentially damaging 'food like' ingredients. The sad thing is many ingredients are being renamed to sound natural making labels even more confusing. I'm continually trying to make more of our food from scratch using fresh organic ingredients so always appreciate recipes like this. I'll be sure to give this a try.
Really like this post - direct and informative. Resteemed

Thank you so much, it is much appreciated. It is a shame that they do not teach kids in high school the importance of making your own whole food recipes for health. Or at least learn how to read ingredients on labels better so they can make better choices. Our health is our most important asset. no matter how successful we become in other areas of life, if we lose our health, it is all worthless because we can no longer enjoy our success or help others to succeed.

Teaching this and also how to grow your own food would be infinitely more important than some aspects of the current curriculum. My 5 year old already has a health interest in where our food comes from and what is good for him / what isn't. I certainly aim to teach both my kids more about this as they grow.

I agree 100% and we need more parents that are as conscious as you in the world.

Thank you. I'll be following your blog. Look forward to trying your recipes!

Do not forget to follow me and vote my recipes

Not the way you want to go about doing things here friend. That is definitely not going to get any one to follow you or upvote you by telling them to do it with out introducing your self, saying hi, or even please. It actually is going to piss most people off and they are not going to ever follow or upvote on your content because of it.

Thank you for sharing this! I appreciate it! I completely agree that students should be taught how to read ingredients and more adults should be aware as well. I have read about the dangers of soybeans and how they badly affect hormones. I'm definitely going to try your recipe! I enjoy your posts!

Thanks so much, have a great day.

I really like homemade mayo. I am lazy at times...well, limited on time and really that is no excuse. I need to get back into the rhythm of making mayo again. Thanks for the inspiration.

It is so good, and I am the same some times with making it. But I made a rule to make everything from scratch or I dont get to have it. So far I have stuck to it.

Your version tastes so much better than the store- bought crap. Canola oil is terrible for you, also. It's in a lot of commercial mayos. Back in the day I used to make whey from raw milk and then use it to make homemade mayonnaise and ketchup.

Yep, they use Canola and Soybean oil. Both terrible stuff. I put garlic and cilantro in it sometimes and make it in the food processor. It is so good to put on anything.

You might want to try putting your olive oil in the fridg, If it clouds up then it is REAL olive oil. If not then you have some sort of BLEND or fake oil.

Yeah you dont want to believe that story. I actually have gotten organic olive oil cold pressed from my families farms in Tenerife in the Canary Islands and it turns cloudy in the fridge. All oils will pretty much do that. Dont always believe what you hear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68608.97
ETH 3280.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74