Healthy and Hearty Beef Barley Soup from Scratch.

in #food7 years ago

Beef Barley has been my favorite Beef Soup since I was a kid and first tried it in New England as the Soup D'jour in a restaurant. I never forget the first time I try a food I love. It gets ingrained in my memory for ever for some reason. Flavors and smells both. Here is my version of that delicious soup.

IMG_5246.PNG

IMG_5249.PNG
Ingredients:
1/2 cup diced red onion
1/4 cup diced bell pepper
6 cloves minced garlic
1 14 oz can of diced, crushed or stewed tomatoes
8 oz dry barley
1 1/2 lbs of beef chuck roast diced
4 tbsp of worchestershire sauce
2 cups sliced carrots
2 cups shredded cabbage
Crushed pepper chili flakes
Salt to taste

IMG_5254.PNG
IMG_5256.PNG
In a soup pot heat 2 tbsp cooking oil on high then add garlic, bell pepper, and onions. Cook until translucent and aromatic. Then add the beef and cook until almost cooked through

IMG_5257.PNG
Add Carrots and Cabbage then the seasonings and wochestershire sauce. Cook until cabbage is softened

IMG_5259.PNG
Add Barley and stir for 2 to 3 minutes then add in 8 cups of water.

IMG_5260.PNG
IMG_5261.PNG
Cook for 45min to an hour until barley is tender. Then serve and Garnish with Shredded Cheese and Chives or cilantro.


Recipe Video with all steps and details on Healthy Recipe Channel on Youtube.

Sort:  

That soup looks delicious! I will have to try it @healthyrecipe

Go for it, it is easy to make. Its all on the video step by step.

Made it tonight. It was GREAT! You guys need to try this, very filling! Thanks @healthyrecipe

That is awesome, Barley is so delicious in so many ways and so healthy and loaded with fiber. One of the most ancient herbs that humans have been eating. I even make barley fried rice with it. Instead of rice I use barley with all the ingredients of fried rice and it is so delicious. You can use it in place of rice in any recipe and it is so much healthier for you.

yummy, You have my vote and follow your post

Thank you my friend. 🙌🏼🙌🏼

That looks so delicious i can almost smell it.

@healthyrecipe

Ooh you're making me wish for fall to come sooner!! This looks really good and filling too! Great photos of the process too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66433.10
ETH 3607.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69