You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canning Leftovers For Emergency Food

in #food7 years ago

I love the idea of making sure that the fridge is empty every week and canning all the leftovers. It makes sure that you are always eating as fresh produce as possible.

I am guilty myself of having to trow stuff out especially fresh herbs that I get for one recipe but then forget about untill it is too late.

Sort:  

One quarter of my genetics come from the hunter gather society of the Blackfoot nation. Through the winter my ancestors lived on meat, fat, and what ever else we could scrub up from the plains, which isn't a lot up north near Canada. I eat a lot more fresh greens than my ancestors did, so nice to have a refrigerator. If my Grandmothers people survived childhood diseases and childbirth they lived to a ripe old age.

I like green smoothies the best, the savory kind. I guess because of my genetics I cannot eat lots of fruit, sugar, or grain. I get sick and fat!

My favorite greens are collards!

I've dried lots of herbs but you can throw them in the stockpot too! hmmm that would make a great article. How to dry and preserve herbs ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47