Vegetarian almost destroyed by McDonald's!

in #food7 years ago

Hello everyone,

As a practicing Vegetarian I wanted to let you know of an experience I had yesterday at McDonald's.

I am a Lacto Ovo Vegetarian, one who does not consume meat, fish or poultry, but will consume dairy and eggs. I am working up to becoming a Vegan.

I know McDonald's is not the best choice of a restaurant for a vegetarian, but please keep in mind that I do have a child that loves hamburgers and french fries.

As we was sitting down for lunch, I was having an Egg McMuffin with a coffee. I was opening the wrapper to put some ketchup on top, and to my surprise there was a small piece of ham on top, it was so small that if I did not take the bun off I would have never have noticed it.

I proceeded to take it up to the front counter and talk to the Manger. I told him that I am a vegetarian and ordered a McMuffin with no meat. He asked me if I ordered it correctly, I said yes. He asked if I was billed for it correctly, I said yes.
He asked if the receipt on top of the McMuffin stated that there was to be no meat, I said yes.

What happened next blew me away. He said "Thanks for letting me know." That's it!
No sorry. Can I get you another? Would you like a refund?

We just ended up leaving very upset. I take great pride in being a vegetarian and this is what happens, almost two years out the window.

The moral of this story always check you food when you are dining out, I sure will.

Thanks for reading, have a great Sunday.

Tom

Sort:  

Hi, I'm so happy to find more and more vegetarians at Steemit!
If you want to try vegan recipes check my blog :))

Hello,

I will definitely check it out. Thanks for the comment.

Thank you ;))

Hi Tom, thank you for sharing your story. I don't eat red meat, and am gluten & dairy free. I do not have Celiac, but I do have a gluten allergy. I definitely can appreciate your frustration with needing to avoid certain foods when dining out and the employees not caring. I had so many frustrations with one of my favorite fast-food restaurants, Panera, that I decided I had to break up with them. I felt that was the only way to properly display my frustration when they no longer listened to my complaints. I'm curious, are you still going to eat there?
Have a great day!

Hello,

Definitely not. I think that now is the time to try and get my son eating a little bit healthier.

Thanks for the comment, I really enjoy interacting with other people here.

Have a great day as well.

We had a similar experience at taco bell drive thru.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32