How To Find Out Which Egg Companies Are Trying To Deceive You

in #food7 years ago (edited)


Source

Free Range

Wide open fields with happy, healthy chickens. Plenty of space for a free range lifestyle. It only seems a fair trade for the eggs we take from them.


Source

I was out shopping with my housemate when we came to the egg aisle. He pulled out his phone with excitement and showed me CluckAR (Cluck Augmented Reality). We excitedly played with it for 5 minutes scanning every carton we could find.

This phone app scans egg cartons and checks them against CHOICE's database. CHOICE is a major Australian consumer advocacy group. They designed the app to give consumers an easy way to test claims made by the companies they trust. How many meters of free range space is each chicken allowed?

Natural Living Eggs. Proudly free range, but the app results tell a different story.

One square meter per chicken, and that's only if they are perfectly spaced apart. This meter is where they live, shit and eat. And it makes me furious. I have purchased this brand before. I thought I was doing my part to promote ethical farming.

Luckily I found my alternative, thank you Sunny Queen Farms.

7 square meters of free range space per chicken and the difference in price between the two was only 60 cents. Even if you don't value animal welfare highly, an extra 60 cents can make a huge difference to thousands of chickens lives.

Check the photos again. After a closer look you might notice these two brands do specify how much space their chickens get... But this isn't always the case. Stay observant and download CluckAR to make the best choice!

Find out more at the iTunes App Store or Google Play.



Find out more and support animal welfare at AnimalsAustralia!



Sort:  

I've considered just buying my own chickens a couple of times. When I have a little more space I am going to follow through with it and be done with it all together.

Good choice mate! The more happy animals in the world the better


This post got a 5.45 % upvote thanks to @scooter77 - Hail Eris !

Dude! <3 (I have no idea how this works but please accept my belated thank you)

I'm not sure how much it added but i like to use the bot sort of like a tipping service

I need to talk to the chat about how that works, also I keep hearing things about "sp delegation?"

We can talk about it later anyway. All the best mate have a great day!

What a great little app. Thanks for sharing. My wife is very particular about her eggs being free-range. I will have to share this with her.

It's perfect! My mind runs away with the future possibilities of Augmented Reality scanners. Imagine scanning foods for nutrient content or "processed food ratings"... Using technology to help educate and empower the consumer has to be the future

Wow interesting app, I didn't know that it exists. It makes you aware of what you buy.

Yeah it's great. I am not sure if it works outside of Australia though. I think it would be a good idea that other developed countries to impliement

Yes, asking people to install this app is one way to tell people to be aware of what they buy.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by harrynewman from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Now that kind of app I could definitely take shopping if I still did the grocery shopping, the kids would be extremely helpful then XD (though in fairness mine are usually pretty helpful)

We don't buy eggs though as we have chickens (that probably range a bit too freely). Hope they extend that one or release other ones for other things XD

We don't buy eggs though as we have chickens (that probably range a bit too freely).

This cracked me up! It also made me smile that you source your own home grown foods. I wish I could but I just don't have the land space to let poultry roam about

Not even for two? They only need so much space per chicken (and another chicken for company). Though if you also have garden that's unavailable because it contains plants you don't want eaten then fair enough 😅

I have a 4 meter by 5 meter backyard and half of it is paved. Also I'm renting and technically I am not allowed pets... My cat is living here illegally :')

LoL was it a good idea to put that on the blockchain XD (because I've never done anything like that ever >_>)

Yeh fair enough!

Those Mother F'cking Producers. Welcome to the world of business, it's all about the money and never about nature of the well-being of other life.

I reckon Joe! Make sure yous scan the eggs mum gets :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73