STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #31: Vegan Cheesy Vegetable Tart

in #food7 years ago

Hi folks! I've just found the rules post for the Culinary Challenge and realised I did the last post a little wrong - so here is my take two!

You will need:

  • Jus Rol Puff Pastry
  • Tomato Purée
  • Garlic
  • Tescos Vegan Grated Mozzarella
  • Vegetables of choice: sweet peppers, courgette, mushrooms, olives, spinach, onion, asparagus etc.
  • Plain flour for rolling pastry
  • Olive Oil

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Take puff pastry out of the fridge, this is to allow it to warm and soften before rolling.
  3. prepare vegetables of choice and garlic. Set aside the garlic for later. The great thing about this tart is that just about everything goes, so just pick your favourites!
    image.jpeg
  4. Heat olive oil in a frying pan and fry your vegetables, except spinach, if you decide to use it. When they are done, drain any liquid that might have come off of the softer veg, such as courgette, mushrooms, and tomato.
    image.jpeg
  5. Sprinkle a clean surface with plain flour and roll out your puff pastry into a rectangle.
  6. Place your rolled out pastry onto a tray and spread the tomato purée onto it, stopping about an inch from the edge.
  7. Sprinkle garlic over the tomato purée before distributing your fried vegetables evenly. If you have used spinach, sprinkle this over the top now.
    image.jpeg
  8. Put a generous amount of tescos vegan mozzarella over your vegetables, and put your tart in the oven. Cook for approximately 20 minutes, or until the pastry is a light golden brown.
  9. Serve and enjoy!
    image.jpeg
Sort:  

YUM YUM YUM!!!!

It's so yum! Are you entering this week? :)

I don't know if I'' have time to do a full recipe. I'm looking into the rules and stuff.

Mine was very rushed, but even if you don't get to it this week, I'm looking forward to the challenge of veganising future topics!

I just don't usually take step by step photos for my recipes. I do a video shoot instead. I'm checking to see if that is ok.

that looks amazing thank you for sharing

Thanks, no problem! I love this dish, so easy but so so delicious.

Looks amazing! Love it.

Thanks! Are you entering this one?

Very nice entry @harrietbradley... fresh and tasty ingredients, and I like straightforward recipes that can be adapted to suit individual tastes. Thanks for posting this again after looking at the rules! Now it's up to the judge to decide if she'd like a slice of your pizza... :-) Good luck, and I hope to see more of your vegan recipes in this challenge - it's always great having new-comers joining in!

Thanks! Yes I always find that I'm more likely to follow recipes that are simple - and this is especially important if someone is trying the vegan diet too. Thanks for your feedback, I really enjoyed doing the challenge and look forward to hopefully adding the vegan option to future ones!

(Also I just looked at your feed, it's so good!)

Thank you @harrietbradley, I appreciate that! I agree that simple recipes means people are more likely to try new diets... particularly vegan dishes because many people think vegan means eating only 'boring plants'! But vegan dishes can be just as tasty as non-vegan with a bit of creative thinking! I think people would try your pizza recipe, as who doesn't enjoy pizza?!! :-)

Yes exactly! This vegan cheese is actually incredible too - I've actually hated all vegan cheeses apart from this one and the one on the pizzas from Zizzi's, so it comes Witt a high recommendation haha! Also the fact that the puff pastry is vegan is amazing. The Jus Rol bake at home croissants are too. Basically I love the brand!

Hmmmm! I can literally smell it! Looks delicious. Seems to be simple. The right thing for me!

Thanks! Yes definitely, it's so simple but really yummy, good for an evening where you want some comfort food without all the effort. Hope you try it!

I bet I will ...

Hehe! This one is def worth the entry! Never used asparagus on pizza... such a great idea! Good luck @harrietbradley and I'm def up for more vegan cooking too ;)

Thanks for the resteem! It's really good actually... If you have the extra time or want to make it extra yum then grilling or roasting the asparagus makes it even better!

Looks delicious!! Good luck with the challenge :)

Thank you! Looking forward to doing more entries, this was really fun 😄 Are you entering this week?

Awesome!!
This week, I had too much work with the project I am doing that I had to skip :(.

Ahh never mind, plenty more opportunities :) I'll be looking out for your entries in future 😄

Thanks!! And I will look for yours :)

Looks like you nailed it @harrietbradley! Great post!

Thanks! Did you enter this week? :)

I did! I usually enter every week haha

Oh of course! You're the one with the gorgeous photos!! Good luck :)

Aw, thank you! This week is really really full of entries, I don't remember seeing that many in quite a long time, it's pretty awesome.

I think the theme has attracted the vegan crowd! (Certainly my incentive haha)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16