MY HOMEMADE FRENCH ONION SOUP!!! ( 14 ORIGINAL PHOTOS)

in #food7 years ago

I have made today a wonderful and warm comfort food for you to view. Tell me what you think? My delicious homemade french onion soup. Made with loads of lovely caramelized sweet onion taste.

THE INGREDIENTS YOU WILL NEED IS:
3 large onions, peeled and sliced
1 (14oz) can of beef consomme
2 slices per person of sliced Swiss cheese
3 cups of low sodium beef stock
3 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce
3 teaspoons of pepper
1/2 teaspoon of sugar

First head your skillet up with about 2 tablespoons of oil. When heated, put your onions in and start saute them. Sprinkle a 1/2 teaspoon of sugar and pepper to your onions and cover. Remember to keep stirring them during them cooking process. The longer you saute the onions the better tasting they become. You want them nice and caramelized.

I use these types of bowls because they can go right into the oven. An it looks nice to.

These are my onions that have been cooking for about 30 minutes already. Keep the heat to medium but keep stirring.

There are onions are completed and you are ready to make your stock up for your soup.

Now take your pot and add the following: 3 cup low sodium beef stock, 1 (14oz) beef consomme, and 3 teaspoons of and 3 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce. Stir everything together, then bring to a boil.

Next put your cooked onions in your beef stock mixture. Then bring to a boil till nice and hot.

Are here you go. Make sure mixture is hot as it helps melt your Swiss cheese. Your now ready to start assembling your soup.

Take your bowl and 1 slice of Swiss cheese and fit it in the bottom of your bowl.

Take your spoon and fill up your bowl almost to the top. Make in sure you put lots of onions bowl. Leave juice about 1/2 inch from the top to be able to put your bread and cheese on top.


Next take 1 piece of bread. I use 100%whole wheat bread. And just fit it so the bread is all tucked into bowl and mixture soaks in to the bread.

And last your put 1 more slice of Swiss cheese on top of bread. Then place on a small cookie sheet and put in oven on 400 degrees until cheese is totally melted and a little brown on top. Be careful it's hot.

And here we are. You are ready to eat. This is really a wonderful recipe. And it's comfort food at it's finest.
I SURE HOPE YOU ENJOY!!!! "BON APPITITE"

All content of this post is mine and is original. All photos taken by myself.

IF YOU LIKE WHAT YOU SEE "UPVOTE" "RESTEEM"

PLEASE FOLLOW ME @happyhousewife

Sort:  

Looks absolutely delicious... Why do I have the feeling you're a fellow Canadian?

Your right. From B.C. and you? Thanks for the comments. I'll follow you

I'm out in Ontario! You're getting followed too!

Awesome. Thank you @abso I will follow you as well. I'm in B.C. Cheers!!!

Awesome I'm in British Columbia. Cheers that's for following. I will follow back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56036.67
ETH 2503.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26