You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Spices of Life: Allspice, Mace and Nutmeg

in #food8 years ago

That would be so cool to see a nutmeg in the wild. I bet yours smells so great - even better than fresh grated nutmegs from the store. When I lived in Michigan, I used American Spicebush (Lindera benzoin) berries as allspice. But it would be great to have the real deal from Jamaica! Here's to spicing up your life! : )

Sort:  

Thanks for your comments @haphazard-hstead!
It was such a gift to be given the spices because where I live nutmeg in its natural whole form is hard to find and you can completely forget about fresh mace that hasn't been already dried and pre-ground.
So, if I could find it, I would only buy a small quantity. Now, I have 8 nutmeg and mace and a full pound bag of allspice...literally a lifetime supply. I'm going to try to sprout some allspice and see what happens.

You are rich like the kings in the ancient ages! Spices! Now you just need the gold, lol.
I'd like seeing how the allspice sprouts and grows - so (hint, hint) use the gardening tag for that. : )

That's exactly how I feel! Lol
Good idea...I have read that allspice is hard to grow and that it is mostly propagated through birds. Something to do with a specific species of bird and it's digestive system, plus the waste. Interesting.

So interesting. Nature is amazing. I guess it would be wrong to use the family dog as a bird substitute.... ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55