You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chestnut recipes & how to preserve them, what I learned so far and a few words about cooking in general

in #food7 years ago

I'm glad you were able to rescue your chestnuts! The puree with the cheery jam looks especially good!

Chestnuts are so meaty and substantial, I think. I can understand why they were so important to people living from the land in the eastern US before the Chestnut blight. My parents in Arkansas still get some chestnuts every fall from a scrubby bush. It has the blight, but still produces good chestnuts. I like having a few roasted ones in my pocket to snack on when I'm out in the woods.

I'm with you on wanting to taste the things I'm eating, without all the spices and salt! Happy foraging!

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment, I'm glad you like my food experiment! :)
I never tried to carry them with me, as I prefer to eat them while they are still warm, but might try that to make myself eat even more chestnuts! :D
To you too, happy foraging, gardening and steeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71