You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Persimmon - Fruit of the Gods - A Common Yet Often Neglected Fruit - Guest Appearance From @papa-pepper

in #food8 years ago

The American persimmon (D. virginiana) is my favorite fruit, hands down. I have eaten a lot of these in my lifetime, lol. But you have to let them get soft -- and a freeze or two makes them taste the best! I grow a Fuyu persimmon here in Oregon's Willamette Valley. They are good, real good. But, man, those little wild ones -- they are a rich-tasting, soft, date-like, sugar bomb! If you are in the eastern US, find yourself an American persimmon! You will be competing with all the wild animals, though, because they know what's up -- foxes, 'possums, deer. Get a game camera and have some fun!

Sort:  

Thanks! I'm supposed to have some American persimmon rooted cuttings coming sometime soon. I plan on grafting onto them, but also leaving some to bear their own fruit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84