Eat More Veggies! - Bodyweight / Calisthenics Training 025

in #food7 years ago

Learning how to eat healthier for some means learning how to cook, researching new recipes and perhaps purchasing some new kitchen tools. My most recent kitchen tool purchase was a Spiralizer. For anyone that hasn't seen or heard of this, it takes your veggies and turns them into noodles to enjoy as a low carb pasta. The most popular is zucchini noodles. However, tonight I used my Spiralizer and I made Sweet Potato Rice, I felt like I was eating a cheat meal it was that good!

IMG_1324.JPG

After you peel the skin off of your sweet potato and send it through the spiralizer it will end up looking like curly fries, which btw you can totally make! :D
Then take all the spiralized pieces, put them into your food processor and spin it.

IMG_1325.JPG

Let it spin until it turns into a rice like consistency

IMG_1326.JPG

Get a deep skillet heating up medium/ high and in the meantime finely chop some onion and mince 1 or 2 cloves of garlic
Sautee the onion and garlic in the skillet with a drizzle of Extra Virgin Olive Oil first then add the sweet potato.

IMG_1327.JPG

Cook stirring occasionally for approximately 10 min until sweet potato is tender. While you are cooking you may need to add a bit more EVOO if it is sticking and black pepper to taste.
At the very end stir in a palmful of dried cranberries and roasted pumpkin seeds, cover and let sit for 5 min.
This evening I enjoyed this along with some chicken breast and I topped it with a sprinkle of feta cheese.

If you enjoyed this recipe and would like to see more nutritional guidance, recipes and healthy tips please comment below!
Thank you for following along with my Bodyweight/Calisthenics Training series and I hope it is helpful to you on your own personal fitness journey.

Sort:  

Sounds amazing! I like how you snuck in some pumpkin seeds too! Superfoods for the win!

The pumpkin seeds are awesome in there. I couldn't find any that were already roasted, so I roasted them in the oven making them hot and fresh to top made it even better!

Really healthy diet, thanks for sharing the step by step "How To process". Thanks for sharing.

Have a great day and stay blessed.

Makes the body happy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64536.58
ETH 2626.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83