My Sweet Critiques: Crispy Almond Tart And The Tangy Peach Pie

in #food6 years ago (edited)

@mickeybeaves and I are in B.C Canada, one day while we were out driving to go on a hike, when we passed an organic bakery in Yarrow, Canada Cody mentioned how we should stop in and see what they have so we pulled over and went in to find many vegan sweets with all organic ingredients. We ordered a veggie panini and a grilled cheese sandwich the sandwiches weren’t too great but after our lunch I went for a slice of the peach pie and Cody got an almond tart.

The Almond Tart

D1D627D8-5560-49AF-ADDA-241303D42E28.jpeg

Cody definitely got the better of the two desserts, his almond tart was encased in a crispy shortbread crust with an almond compote in the center of the tart topped with slices of almonds. When he went to cut the tart it cut with a good amount of effort and broke off in one solid bite. The tart was buttery and the almond flavor really came through, the only Critique I might have for this dessert is it was a little on the dry side, perhaps a little more butter would rehydrate this creation! Overall this tart was the better out of the two even being slightly dry.

Peach Pie

5FAED20C-5849-4F84-86B6-08EC61EC8689.jpeg

The peach pie was well done, maybe even slightly over baked in some places, the crust was flakey and throughly cooked not the least bit soggy and the peaches were balanced in sweet and slightly tangy flavors and they melted in your mouth. The reduction was sweet and had a nice thick consistency, and the golden brown pie was topped with gratulated cane sugar. I was very impressed with the overall flavors of the pie as a whole and left feeling satisfied with one small piece.

I would give these desserts a 3.7 out of 5 very tasty and enjoyable, simple tweaks would make these two recipes even better!

9594B834-1D3B-4186-B91B-3CD2D8BEA605.jpeg

539A58B4-DC40-4C61-A07B-4AA287534334.jpeg

Sort:  

Wow it looks very delicious...
I want to try it because i think it is not like a common pie that has been eaten by me 😊

I want to taste it! I wonder if I could prepare this pie as good as it seems to be....

mmm I love tarts!! This one looks amazing! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93