Spicy Apple Salad

in #food8 years ago (edited)

  • Food Art & Techniques to make The Best Spicy Apple Salad Step By Step.

  • Traditional Thai Recipe to bring exquisite food to your fine dining table for special ocacsions.

Spicy Salads

  • Western salads are generally served prior to mais courses. Thai salads, howerver, can be enjoyed on their own as snacks, as appetizers or together with other main dishes at any time of the day. They are widely available everywhere from local street food stalls to high-end restaurants.

  • Many Thai salads are best appreciated with accompaniments. Pungent salads are purposefully served with copious amount of steamed rice or fresh vegetables to moderate the heat and enhance the taste of salads.

  • Popular accompanying dishes include, but not limited to: barbecue or fried chicken, fried pork, super-crispy fried fish (Pla Krop), fermented Thai sausage (Naem), Salted duck, etc.

Spicy Apple Salad

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 2 Duck Breasts, Skin-On (150 g each)
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 tsp Ground White Pepper
  • 2 Tbsp Vegetable Oil
  • 1 Granny Smith Apple (or any green apple), sliced and soaked in a bowl of water with lemon juice
  • 1 Cup Sliced Shallot
  • 1/2 Cup Coriander Leaves
  • 2 Tbsp Mint Leaves
  • Mint Leaves, to Garnish

Dressing

  • 15 Cloves Thai Garlic, Minced
  • 20 Bird`s eye Chiles, Minced
  • 6 Tbsp Fish Sauce
  • 3 Tbsp Lime Juice
  • 1 Tbsp Granulated Sugar

Preparation

1. To make the fressing, combine the garlic, chilies fish sauce, lime and sugar together. Stir to dissolve. It should br pleasantly sour, spicy and salty. Set aside.

2. Season the duck breast with salt and pepper and let sit for 5 minutes. Heat the oil in a pan over medium heat. When the oil is hot, place the duck breast, skin side down.

3. Pan-fry until the skin is crispy and well rowned. Flip and fry the other side until thoroughly cooke, about 6 minutes. Remouve the breast and drain. Slice into 0.5-cm-thinck pieces. Set aside.

4. Ina mixing bowl, combine the apples, shallot, and the dressing together. Toss to coat. Stir in the coriander and mint leaves. Arrange sliced duck breast on a serving dish. Top with the Salad. Garnish with mint leaves.


About Me

In 2012 I began my cooking journey in Brasil and studied at “Senac, Juiz de Fora”, in Minas Gerais, developing my basic culinary techniques.

Later I worked in a local restaurant, and rose to a role in management, helping to increase the clientele base. I then discovered a refined bistro called “Assunta” in Minas Gerais and cooked as a Chef de parti. In this place I became sure of what I wanted for my life. Learning an important chef’s culinary art at that time aroused my desire to live abroad; learn English and improve my culinary techniques.

Following this experience I traveled to Ireland in Europe and began working in an Irish restaurant as a Kitchen Porter and later working as a Chef de Parti.

Having met my girlfriend, I embarked on the third part of journey to Thailand in 2014 where I gained an Asian cooking experience and improved my International culinary techniques. In Bangkok I had the privilege of undertaking a course in one of the most prestigious international networks of French cuisine; “Le Cordon Bleu”.

Having completed the Advanced cooking level there I traveled to Italy and learnt more about Mediterranean cooking and then returned to Brasil, where I’m now based.


Chef Recipes Site

Chef Recipes Shop

Blog Post


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25