2018-01-19: The Wakame Contains What?!?!

in #food6 years ago

Stats

Cash: 10.9%
Core: 78.6%
Explore: 10.5%
Workout: 30min dog walk (still fighting the cold, but I'm winning now)
Alcohol: Sam Adams Kellerbier
Sleep: 11pm to 6:45am, rested (thank you again NyQuil)

Scary Thoughts

I spent a decade in Japan, and my wife is Japanese, so a lot of Japanese food is eaten in my house. One of the staples of Japanese cuisine is miso soup:

The miso paste is made from fermented soybeans, and the soup will typically contain tofu and wakame, a type of seaweed. We usually buy a high quality wakame imported from Japan, but that brand was sold out the other day, so my wife bought this much cheaper brand:

wakame_front.jpg

Looks innocent enough, right? After we get home, she flips the bag over and sees a special message:

wakame_back.jpg

I've seen this message on flat-pack furniture that uses formaldehyde in the manufacturing process, so I was a bit surprised to see it on a food item. I did a little digging and found a 22-page pdf file provided by the State of California that lists ALL the chemicals known to cause cancer or reproductive toxicity. This obviously didn't narrow it down very much, so I did a little more digging and found that seaweed in general contains high concentrations of organic arsenic. (Note, this is not "organic" in the supermarket sense, but rather "organic" in the organic chemistry sense.) While inorganic arsenic is a known carcinogen and toxin (think rat poisin), apparently organic arsenic is safely metabolized and non-toxic. I guess Prop 65 doesn't distinguish between different kinds of arsenic, so it just issues the blanket warning, because liability.

In the end we decided to throw it away, not trusting the overall food safety record of the country of origin. For all I know they wash it in formaldehyde, so better safe than sorry ;-)

Happy Thoughts

Sophie decided to build herself a den tonight, I guess she's trying to keep warm:

sophie_den.jpg

487

Sort:  

Your wife is sweet...she didnt feel bad but for. Safety sake...look forward for thanks the vital information..i am @teaser1 and i'm following for more information😄

Ever try saying "Nani?" with a surprise expression to your wife when she asks something random?

Or tell her you'll do a kansei dorifto at the next corner?

Fuck, the things I'd do if I ever have a Japanese girlfriend.

Nah, my wife's fully bilingual and I learned enough Japanese living there for a decade to speak it fo real, so I'd get some strange looks if I said that. I'm not even sure how many people in Japan would know what a Kansai Drift is...

Idk then, there's this manga called "Initial D" that's very popular, I think even among Japanese. It's about racing and drifting on mount Akina. I guess you guys are not big into manga and all that bs.
All I'm saying is if I have a Japanese gf, I'd troll the hell out of her with Japanese pop culture reference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48