Traditional Chilean Chorrillana (Beef & Egg Loaded French Fries!) MY SECRET FRENCH FRY TECHNIQUE INCLUDED! 📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

How about we try some Chilean cuisine today, you up for it?!

Well, I’ve already done it so I’m really hoping that you’re all on board with me. Honestly though, in what world could this be a bad decision, right?

So most of you already know that I live in Chile and that I’m currently dating a Chilean. Wow, sometimes it’s still hard even for me to grasp that concept even though we’ve lived here for a few years now. Already this new year has seemed to be changing with each new day and I feel like I’m trying to catch up and find my equilibrium.

Anyway though, something on my to-do list for this year is to pay more attention than ever and respond as well as possible to all of the recipes you guys are wanting me to try and to share. I’ve had a lot of people ask me why I so rarely share Chilean food recipes when I live here surrounded by it all the time and I was trying to explain it to someone the other day. The best way I can describe it is to tell you what it was like to move to a new culture from the one we left. We arrived here and everything was so vastly different from what we were used to, especially the food.

Don’t get me wrong, I love trying new flavors and I really like Chilean cuisine, but on those early days in this new culture, when we were getting a little (okay fine, a lot) homesick, what we all were craving were the familiar comfort foods from our own culture. Trying to recreate them became more of my focus, and besides, whenever we do want authentic Chilean food it’s available everywhere. See my point? It was one of the last things I wanted to make at the time.
Things are different now that we’ve been here a while and we’ve gotten familiar with our surroundings. In fact, I’ve recently been gaining an interest in learning how to make all the traditional types of food made here so I can share them. I thought I’d start with something that I know my family likes, it’s called chorrillana. Basically it’s a heaping pile of fries, topped with strips of beef, sautéed onions, and some fried eggs on the top (because those are a must in Chilean cuisine). It’s not a very complex or difficult dish but I think that’s what’s so brilliant about it.

Also, I was thinking how perfect this is with the Superbowl coming up so soon. I mean, hello perfect tailgate-party man-food! Personally, I’m excited to make some other crowd-pleasers inspired by football season this year because I’ve got more guys around than ever, and um, wow do they like to eat!

RECIPE

Yield: 4 - 6 servings

Ingredients

Steak Marinade:
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons worchestershire sauce
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons sugar
1/4 cup white wine vinegar
2 rib-eye, New York strip, or filets mignon steaks (8 to 10 ounces each), trimmed

Fries:
6 medium potatoes, washed and sliced into french fries.
sea salt and black pepper to taste
oil for frying
2 medium onions, thinly sliced
1 tablespoon oil
1 tablespoon oil
4 - 6 large eggs
sea salt and black pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Combine the ingredients for the steak marinade in a stainless steal bowl or a glass baking dish and stir together well. Place the steaks in the mixture and then pour in enough water to cover the steaks and turn them both over once to make sure and coat them in the marinade.
  2. Place in the fridge for a minimum of 1 hour and up to 48 hours. The longer you can let it marinade the better.
  3. Soak the cut potatoes in large bowl of water for about 30 minutes. While they soak, heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a large skillet over medium low heat. Remove the steaks from the fridge and place them in the pan. Cook on each side for 5 to 6 minutes until the center is completely done. Remove from pan and place in a seperate dish, then cover to keep warm. Add another tablespoon of oil to the pan and add the onions. Saute for 2 to 3 minutes until browned then pour in the red wine and season to taste with salt and pepper. Turn off heat and pour the onions out into the dish with the steaks.
  4. Now for the fries, heat at least 4 inches of oil in a large dutch oven or deep fryer until it reaches 375 degrees F (180 C). While the oil heats, drain and rinse the fries then pour them out onto a clean kitchen towel and pat dry. Once the oil is hot, fry the fries in 2 or 3 batches for 4 to 5 minutes each until they start to get soft. Drain and remove each batch from the oil to cool for about 5 minutes as you rotate the batches. After all the potatoes have been fried once, begin frying each batch for a second time for an additional 5 or 6 minutes until golden brown and crispy. Drain and remove from oil and dump them onto a plate lined with paper towels. Season to taste with salt and pepper and place them on either a large serving platter or divide between individual plates.
  5. Slice the steaks into thin strips and add back to the pan along with the onions and place over medium high heat just long enough to warm. Scoop the meat/onions onto the fries and return the pan to heat. Now add another tablespoon of oil to the pan and crack in the eggs. Fry for 2 to 3 minutes until the whites are completely cooked, or until the eggs reach your preferred doneness. Add them to the top of the meat and season the whole thing to taste with more salt and pepper.
  6. Serve immediately.

So let me know what you think of this one if you try it. I genuinely love to know and it always makes my day when I find out someone is currently enjoying recipe that shared.

SIDE NOTE: I am posting this at ~ 4pm here in Chile. In times past, this has not been a good time to post, but it has been a while and steemit is ever changing so we will give it a try. One of these days, I am going to have a viral post. I haven't had one of those yet, but I am eager to see what it looks like.

Also, this post has a lot of words. I mentioned in my first post early this morning that posts with a lot of words do not tend to do well. In my next post tomorrow, I'll let you know how things are going.





AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

This is definitely an easy and delicious looking meal to prepare for my family on boxing match days. Superbowl as well too! I can definitely relate with your sentiments. Marrying my wife @happyharmonymay is a blessing, I never knew I'd live in London, or Germany ever, and I too focus a lot on cooking comfort foods from the states even though the German traditional food is available to me everyday, and I do enjoy it as well. I'm glad you didn't make this post a short text one. I shall attempt this one soon and bookmark it.
Upvoted

Fantastic. I am so glad you liked my 'long' post and you'd like to give it a try. Let me know how it turns out, when that day comes.

I'm thinking in the next couple days or so. Wish me luck.

Beautiful @gringalcious!
We make something that's called poutine in Canada.
It's a french Canadian dish and it's made with fresh cheese curd that's really squeaky because it's so fresh. It is then piled with different toppings like gravy, pulled pork and BBQ sauce. :)

Wow, gravy. You should do a post about this. I think that would be a great idea.

Thats couch & beer food👍!

You are absolutely correct!! Should have put that in the title but I am already pretty cramped up there

Beef, eggs and fries -- perfect trifecta :))

and a little grilled onions in there to make it extra perfect. Thanks for taking the time to comment @macksby, I really appreciated it

@gringalicious, this is my kind of food. Love this post.

Oh, I am so glad. I didn't know how people would respond to this one. Thanks for the encouragement!

It's my pleasure. @gringalicious, you're one of the sweetest profiles on steemit. I appreciate all your support.

que rico madre!

Muchisimo Gracias!

Looks appetizing .
Thank you for sharing.

Thanks for commenting!

Yumm!! Amazing photos and a great recipe for succeed on Steemit. Uv & rs

Wish my resteem had brought​ you more rewarded votes! Well, at least you had this tasty meal and now you know some of us love this kind of food. Steem on!!

So sweet, very kind words of encouragement , thanks so much!!

You're welcomed!! I love your food work and photos :)

Very nice party food and I am sure it tastes super good too. Thanks for sharing!!

Thank you for commenting @rea. I am really enjoying your posts

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.98 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36