SWIRLED RASPBERRY CHEESECAKE CHOCOLATE CHIP PANCAKES (RECIPE AND PHOTO SHOOT)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!!  It's Sunday! The weekend already, how is it possible?  So today, I have for you a new way to make pancakes.  You should try this right now, go ahead, make it happen.



All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G,  ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! 



So, the other day I posted a FRENCH TOAST recipe and a little debate started over FRENCH TOAST, PANCAKES or WAFFLES....


GIF IMAGE SOURCE


So, tell me, which is it for you?



In my house, everybody will eat either one, but there is without a doubt a split of opinions on which one is better.  The boys tend to lobby for the waffles and the girls for the pancakes.  For me, I can't decide.  I love them all. 



Talking about pancakes reminds me,...  A few months ago, I was contracted to do an food photo shoot for Spoonful Magazine.  I posted a couple of photos in my Introductory Post.  It was a ton of fun.  

 


Getting the swirl to work on these pancakes, I have to tell you, took some effort, but I finally did it.  Don't get hung up on the swirl if you try to make these, really they taste the same without it.  I just had an idea in my head that I was going to make swirl happen, and I knew it would make awesome food photos.   



Oh, and one other thing... THE CHOCOLATE CHIPS are in there, I just didn't get any good photos so you'll just have to imagine it in your mind.  Go ahead, imagine.



RECIPE 

Prep Time: 25 minutes

Cook Time: 25 minutes

Total Time: 50 minutes

Yield: 12 - 14 pancakes   

Ingredients

Pancake Batter: 

  • 1/4 cup sugar 
  • 1 egg 
  • 2/3 cup whole milk 
  • 3/4 cup greek yogurt or sour cream 
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted 
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder 
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda 
  • 1 teaspoon salt 
  • 1 2/3 cup all purpose flour 

Cheesecake Swirl: 

  • 3 tablespoons cream cheese, softened 
  • 3 tablespoons full-fat greek yogurt 
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 
  • 3 1/2 tablespoons sugar 
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice 
  • 3 tablespoons flour 

Raspberry Swirl: 

  • 1/4 + 2 tablespoons (6 tablespoons) raspberry jelly 
  • 1/4 cup flour 

Optional Toppings: 

  • whipped cream 
  • powdered sugar 
  • fresh raspberries 
  • additional raspberry jelly 
  • chocolate chips

Instructions

  1. Whisk  eggs and sugar in a large mixing bowl. Add milk, yogurt, vanilla, and  melted butter and stir until combined. Add soda, baking powder, salt and  flour and mix until just smooth. (If the batter seems too thick or too  thin you can adjust it with a small amount of milk or flour). 
  2. To  make the swirl mixtures: Whisk the softened cream cheese in a medium  bowl until completely lump free. Stir in the yogurt, vanilla, sugar, and  lemon juice until combined, then whisk in flour until smooth. For the  raspberry swirl, whisk the jelly and flour together until smooth in  another small mixing bowl. 
  3. Fit  two small tipped piping bags or small plastic baggies into clean  glasses to hold them up and pour the raspberry mixture into one and the  cheesecake mixture into the other and twist the back so that they are  ready for piping. Set aside until ready to swirl onto the pancakes. 
  4. Heat  a griddle or large non-stick skillet over medium-low heat (you'll need  it fairly low so that the pancakes don't cook too fast, about 325  degrees F [160 C]) and grease lightly. Pour about 1/3 cup batter for  each pancake onto griddle and cook for 1 to 2 minutes. Do just a few at a  time and as soon as you pour the batter work as quickly as you can to  swirl, first the cheesecake and then the raspberry, mixtures over each  pancake while it's cooking. Cook until you start to see little bubbles   then flip and cook on other side for about 1 minute more until done.  (Tip: to get the best swirls you'll want to cook the pancake as much as  possible on the opposite side before flipping so that you don't need to  cook the swirl side very long. This keeps it from getting browned over  on the griddle.) 
  5. Serve pancakes hot with desired toppings



   

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO @rigaronib for designing my logo!!!!

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER

Sort:  

O.o very nice, it looks like magic dust that gif you made @gringalicious !

so glad you liked it. Thank you for the kind words

they look delicious!

Awesome, I am glad you liked the post and pics - Steem ON!

Awesome post! Just a heads up, you are a day off...It's Sunday. haha

thanks for pointing that out. You were the only one who noticed. That should tell me something

That I should see a shrink?

OK, this made my day. It is Sunday morning where I am and your Raspberry pancakes are going to be the centerpiece of our breakfast this morning. Thank you.

Fantastic, I hope it is a huge hit!

Looks delicious, nice photos too, followed :D

Thank you @shieha. I am really glad you enjoyed it

Fantastic post! Bookmarked it for the recipe. :)

Thank you for the compliment - encouragement is always appreciated - Steem ON!

Looks like Im going out for pancakes this morning... These look outrageous @gringalicious!

Fantastic - Hope they turned out great! Glad I could be some inspiration - Steem ON!

I love the photography as always <3

Thank you so much!

Amazing stuff @gringalicious! I prove to do it! Thanks to share! (;

I hope it turns out well for you!

mee too! (;

Wow love the presentation!!! Upvoted. Thanks for sharing and looking forward to reading more of these kind of stories :-)

Awesome, thank you for commenting. I hope to not disappoint with my future posts - Steem ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43