SNICKERS BARS (Corn Syrup FREE) HOMEMADE (Food Photo Shoot & Recipe )steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

Hey Steemians! IT'S FRIDAY!! Today I am going to share with you one of my top rated recipes. Seriously, this has received the best reviews. I hope you're ready?




The recipe speaks for itself, and the results you'll get certainly will. So, I am not going to put a ton of text in this post. For those of you who actually read my posts, a sincere thank you. I hope I have not disappointed you today with limited text. Today we'll focus on the photography and the recipe.

All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G, ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!

With Halloween approaching, I know all of the stores are doing everything they can to get you to buy corn syrup wrapped in chocolate. I saw a post earlier this month talking about how aggressive the marketing is. If we had a better search engine here, I could pull it up for you, but maybe in a future update.

Ok, so this is exactly a 'health food' recipe, but one thing for certain is that it is not cramed full of high fructose corn syrup and all the other crud they put in those candies. You'll be able to share these knowing it's real food.

According to my family, I hit it out of the park with this one. You can be a home run hero too. Give it a try, you'll thank me later. And, oh yeah, you're going to need a lot of milk to go with these.

RECIPE


Prep Time: 50 minutes

Cook Time: 40 minutes

Total Time: 2 hours, 30 minutes

Yield: 24 bars

Ingredients

Bottom and Top Layers:
2 tablespoons heavy whipping cream
3 tablespoons creamy peanut butter
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips or chopped chocolate
Nougat Layer:
1/4 cup butter
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup whole milk
2 cups homemade vanilla marshmallows (1/4 of recipe in link)
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1 1/4 cups salted dry roasted peanuts
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
Caramel:
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons butter
2/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup half & half
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 tablespoons strong black coffee

Instructions

Bottom Layer:
A. Line a 13x9 inch pan with parchment paper and set aside. Melt 2 tablespoons cream,
B. 3 tablespoons peanut butter, and 1 cup chocolate in a double boiler until smooth. Scrape out into prepared pan with a rubber spatula and spread into as even a layer as you can. Place pan in fridge to harden while you make the nougat.
Nougat:
A. Combine butter, sugar, and milk in a small saucepan and bring to a soft boil over medium low heat. Boil for about 5 minutes then remove from heat and stir in salt, marshmallows, peanut butter, and vanilla until smooth. Remove pan with bottom layer from fridge. Add peanuts to nougat mixture and scrape out onto bottom layer. Spread as quickly and evenly as possible.
B. Allow to cool while you make your caramel.
Caramel:
A. Combine brown sugar, butter, half & half, honey, and salt in a medium saucepan over medium low heat. Bring to a soft boil and stir occasionally, scraping sugar from sides of pan, for about 12 minutes or until it starts to get thick and develop a dark amber color. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla and coffee then cool for about 5 minutes. Pour over nougat layer and spread gently and evenly. Place pan back in refrigerator and chill for about 30 minutes.
Top Layer:
A. Melt 2 tablespoons cream, 3 tablespoons peanut butter, and 1 cup chocolate in the same double boiler until smooth. Scrape out onto caramel layer with a rubber spatula and spread into an even layer. Place pan back in fridge and chill for at least 1 hour before cutting into bars and serving.
B. These bars are best stored in fridge and served cold or not quite lukewarm because they are a bit soft at room temp.

Notes

If you do not plan to make homemade marshmallows they can be substituted with 1 1/2 cups marshmallow cream. Although, most brands are made with mostly corn syrup.


AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER

Sort:  

that looks amazing! !NOM NOM!

It looks so good )))

My goodness that looks good!

Thank you for the compliment @opheliafu - STEEM ON!

I have to have this and soon...

It looks delicious :)

Thank you for the kind words @krystle - STEEM ON!

This looks amazing!

Thanks @birdie - STEEM ON!

That looks so goooooooddddd. I want it. Time to cook.

I hope they turned out well for you? STEEM ON!

OMG these look so good! There goes my plan of a sugarless weekend ;-)

Sorry about that. Maybe next weekend - Thanks for your continued support - STEEM ON!

I need this in my life!

I understand, we all do. STEEM ON!

Yummy.
I don't eat many sweets, but I love snickers bars. Yet I have not had one in almost ten years, because of all the crap. We will give these a try for the holidays. Speaking of holidays; my wife makes her own homemade marshmallows. I wanted to compare with yours, but could not find the link you mentioned.
Thank You.

I will be reposting a marshmallow recipe soon, like you said, for the holidays. I will message you when I have it posted. Thank so much for commenting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58102.40
ETH 3065.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26