ROASTED VEGGIE SWEET POTATO POWER BOWLS + YOUGURT TAHINI SAUSE 📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

The 15th of December, how did this happen?!

Sorry I’m freaking out a little bit but Christmas is rapidly approaching! Did you realize that???? I know this happens every year, and I do this same thing every year, but I’m being completely honest when I say that I’ve never had a Christmas sneak up on me like this one. I’m both extremely excited and slightly sad that it’s so close to being passed us. Not to mention I still have so many things to get done this next week, as I’m sure you do too.

So I realize this recipe has basically nothing related to Christmas or the holiday season except for it being a super cozy meal. That probably doesn’t bother you, but for me it’s surprising. I’m trying to figure out where my heads at and why I’m not taking advantage of one of my last opportunities to celebrate the season with a recipe when, in case you didn’t know, I’m sort of a HUGE fan of Christmastime and all things holiday related. Hmph, I guess I’ve just been so distracted this week doing things like, um…..Gingerbread house-ing! Anyway, I can’t wait to show you this year’s house guys, it’s maybe my favorite yet.

Okay, but even though this recipe isn’t related to Christmas, can still talk about it really quickly? Like how I’m sort of missing a few little things from my childhood growing up in the States. For example, things like caroling with our church choir and watching the faces of our listeners light up with joy, or the ridiculous amount of decorations on many people’s homes (there aren’t many people who do that here.) Another thing that I loved as a kid was driving around the Opryland Hotel light elaborate displays every year when we lived close by, that was a blast.

But of course the biggest thing I miss right now is the snow. I’m totally going to reference Gilmore Girls here because I can’t resist and it’s fresh on all our minds anyway. You know how Loralai always claims that she can smell snow right before it starts snowing? Well I can too, or I used to be able to, but obviously not with her accuracy. Unfortunately my talent has probably dulled since it’s been a few years since the last time I was around snow (Wow, is that for real? Major sad face.) I miss it yes, but so far I’ve been really enjoying the season this year despite it all.

Alright, but now I’m shutting up so I can tell you about these yummy bowls that I’m crazy for. These bowls are everything you guys. First let me focus on the roasted veggies. I feel like just about any food that you roast is going to be amazing, and I’d say these veggies are killing it in proving that fact. Just yum! Then there’s the sweet potatoes, because those are always a win in my book, and the black beans, because fiber.

After that you make an extremely simple yogurt and tahini sauce to go with it. Which, I have to tell you, it’s one of my current obsessions. I just love tahini so much and all the flavor it adds! And last but not least you throw on a fried egg for good measure and you’re in business! So I guess it’s maybe a good thing that this isn’t too holiday related because this is one weeknight meal you’re going to want again and again!

RECIPE

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 45 minutes

Total Time: 1 hour

Yield: 4

Ingredients

Yogurt Tahini Sauce:
3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
1/4 cup tahini
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1/4 teaspoon pepper
2 teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon garlic powder

Bowls:
2 cup cooked black beans
4 eggs
2 large sweet potatoes. peeled and diced
3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
1 cup broccoli florets
1 cup cauliflower florets
1 medium zucchini, thinly sliced into wedges
1 large red onion, sliced
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 C) and line 2 small baking trays with foil. In a large bowl, toss the sweet potatoes in 1 tablespoon of olive oil and sprinkle to taste with salt and pepper. Pour onto one of the trays and spread into an even layer. Add the veggies to the bowl toss with another tablespoon of oil and season with salt and pepper then spread out on second tray.
  2. Bake, stirring about every 10 minutes, for 25 to 35 minutes or until potatoes and veggies are fork tender.
  3. While the veggies are in oven, whisk together the ingredients for the sauce in a small saucepan and place on the stove to simmer until warm.
  4. In a medium skillet with a lid, heat another tablespoon of oil over medium high heat and add the eggs then fry until done to your taste. Remove eggs from pan and add the black beans; cover pan and simmer over low heat to warm while the veggies finish.
  5. Once everything is done, divide each piece into bowls and season to taste with additional salt and pepper, then drizzle with desired amount of the sauce. Serve hot!
  6. ( For leftovers it's also delicious to combine everything in a skillet and cook until hot.)





AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

      

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Roasted veggies in winter fab!!

Winter for you, summer for me. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment!

Oh is it summer there ;) Cook away!

my back yard -

Snow-capped in the summer?? That's my cousin's backyard actually ;)
Mine's nothing compared to yours both.

yes, snow capped, those are actually glacier capped

This looks sooo delicious :D

You are so kind - great compliment from the master cook

upvote follow resteam Your photography is the best and the recipe will be used. Gobble gobble lOvE 2 EaT HeaLthY!

Super awesome compliment - thanks so much!!

@gringalicious, looks so delicious. My kind of food. Steem On Dude!

I am so glad you liked it. I don't post these kind of dishes that often, but maybe I will from now on

Upvoted... I'm going to have to try some of your recipes.

That is awesome. Please let me know how they turn out

That looks fantastic! Hey I'm the judge for a pasta cooking contest. There are prizes for the top 5 chosen. First prize is 25 SBD. With your talent I'd enter if I were you!

Here's the link:
https://goo.gl/UJkRHJ

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

I will look at it. Thanks so much for giving me the heads up!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 15 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36