ROASTED CHICKPEA & VEGGIE COUSCOUS SALAD With BALSAMICsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

Hey Steemians!!  It's Monday, how did that happen?!  Want a healthy start to your week?  Then I have a recipe for you.


All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 -  ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!  



Ok, so I have been posting a lot of sweets recently, thus I thought I'd do a more healthy post.  So here it is, 



Couscous is fairly new in my life, I've only been acquainted for a couple of years.  And, compared to pasta and rice, it is so easy to prepare.


For this creation, I chose a salad, it is super easy and tastes great.  I hope you enjoy:


RECIPE

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 1 hour

Total Time: 1 hour, 10 minutes

Yield: 6 - 8 servings

Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 cups uncooked couscous
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 3 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 1 large or 2 small zucchini, chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • 1 bunch freah basil leaves, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup olive oil, divided
  • 6 tablespoons balsamic vinegar, divided
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 medium tomatoes, chopped

Instructions

  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees F (200 C). Toss chickpeas, zucchini, onions, and garlic, and half of the basil with 2 tablespoons olive oil and 3 tablespoons of balsamic. Salt and pepper to taste then bake for about 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes or so.
  2. While that is in, bring water to a boil and add couscous. Cover and remove from heat and allow to sit for about 10 minutes.
  3. Fluff with a fork and add roasted veggies and chickpeas, tomatoes, and remaining olive oil, balsamic, and basil. Toss and season to taste with salt and pepper.
  4. Serve hot or cold.



AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO @rigaronib for designing my logo!!!!
 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER

Sort:  

Looks Good!

Thank you @anns. I don't think people are in the mood for couscous today however. It's back to sweets I think. Steem ON!

Maybe The Cold Fall Air.
Steem on!
:))

no sweets recipe for today?

doesn't look like a 'sweets' is going to make it today. But, don't worry, I have a strong suspicion I'll have at least one tomorrow

I like the couscous - it can't be sweets and icing sugar all over the blog :)

you're right, we need more couscous - I will work on that

Thank you I must try this!

I hope you do. Thank you for commenting!

Keep bringing em veggie recipes please :D

I have another coming very soon, stay tuned. Steem ON!

Holy Guacamole!!! All's that missing is an awesome name...
gotta try this recipe.. Wonder what it'll taste like if I were to replace balsamic vinegar with my favorite apple ciddy.. xD

Apply cider would be great substitute

Mmmm mmm, looks yummylicious!

Thanks @meesterboom. Glanced at your soup, I will be upvoting. Steem ON!

Very good post!

Yey, this is soooo my sort of food! Looks delicious, thanks for the recipe!

You are so welcome. Thank you so much for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.34
ETH 3502.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82