Homemade Chocolate Almond Joy - Food Photo ShootsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Ok you Choco-Zombies, here is another chocolate fix for you

Alright, I need a show of hands, who here likes Almond Joys?

I like to make copycat recipes from time to time because it reminds us of some of the comforts we left behind in the states. Almond Joys is one of those comfort foods.

These are always a crowd pleaser. I hope you enjoy the photos

RECIPE available upon request




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Those look great!

Still, I have to take issue - what about people who don't like almonds? Can the recipe be used to make homemade Mounds bars instead of Almond Joy bars?

Because, I mean, sometimes you feel like a nut - and sometimes you don't. ;)

That's awesome, you threw the line in, so cool.

This looks so tasty! I'd love to get the recipe :-)

Ahh, very cool, a request for the recipe:

RECIPE

Yield: about 22 candies

Ingredients

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) coconut oil or butter, softened
1/4 cup sweetened condensed milk, separated
2 tablespoons powdered dry milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups powdered sugar
1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
1/2 cup whole almonds
2 bars(200g) good quality semi-sweet dark chocolate
2 tablespoons more butter or coconut oil

Instructions

  1. Combine butter, vanilla, 2 tablespoons sweetened condensed milk in medium mixing bowl.Add powdered dry milk, powdered sugar, and coconut and mix until a dough forms.
  2. Now form tablespoon sized chunks into rectangles and place on parchment lined tray. Spread a small amount of sweetened condensed milk over each as a sort of glue for the almonds. Place two almonds on top of each candy and press down gently to stick. Place tray in refridgerator for 1 hour to chill. Move to freezer for about 20-30 minutes before dipping.
  3. Melt chocolate and butter or coconut oil in small saucepan or double boiler over low heat. Remove tray from freezer and dip each candy into chocolate and turn to coat. Use a fork or similar utensil to remove to tray. After dipping allow chocolate to dry and cool. I usually put it in the fridge.

Thank you very much, I must try this!

Please let me know how it turns out for you

You did it again girl!!! A feast for the eyes...thank you for sharing the lusciousness!

you are always so sweet! You comments bring a smile to my face, even when the world is doing all it can to make me frown

We're here to cheer each other up....mmmm...just look at that candy!!

Mmmm! Sooo delicous I love almond joys !!! 😋😋😋

We still don't have them here, maybe someday because I really like them too

OM NOM NOM!!!!

Thanks for commenting

I think your stuff is just great. I appreciate your support on here and notice it, I just am not on here as much as I would like due to my situation.

Thank you for your support @barrydutton.

That really looks good-- reminds me of my great aunt's marzipan filled chocolates she'd make when I was little.

Yeah, I think I have some marzipans in my history also. Maybe a post someday about that. Thanks so much for commenting

Mmmm coconut and chocolate always make a great combination! Almonds are a great addition to round out this snack. Nice!

Thanks so much @jedau. And thanks so much for commenting

You're welcome! I know my one vote don't equal to a lot of cash, so I at least want my comments to help attract more readers and voters by keeping your post in the trending tab. Happy to support a mutual supporter!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.51 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

"Sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don't!"

Exactly. So, tell me, which one are you feeling today?

looks divine as always!

You are so kind, thanks @breezin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58119.97
ETH 3054.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26