Chocolate Dipped Orange Cream Popsicles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

🍊🍫🍊🍫Summer is here and we're going to need some deliciousness to cool down with. Who's with me?????🍊🍫🍊🍫

DSC_0776.jpg

Quick update for anyone following my injury recovery: I'm still on the mend and thankfully my knee injury is almost healed enough that I can stop walking like a peg-leg pirate and take the stairs like a normal human being, yay!!!

dsc_0779.jpg

The down side is that unfortunately I'll still have to wear the cast for another few weeks. I'm not going to lie though, doing everything with one hand is starting to realy drive me insane. I miss my arm. 😢😢😢💪 (I may not make it, lol)

DSC_0755.jpg

These summery treats are pretty simple and straight forward. Actually, they were my sisters’ idea. My sisters found these orange flavored chocolate bars that they fell in love with and ate all the time for a long period of time. Even after the hype started to fade about the chocolate bars they were insistent that I should make something inspired by them. So, of course, I did because I love to make people happy with food, especially my family peoples.

DSC_0795.jpg

Anyway, these pops are made with coconut milk instead of cream and I used raw sugar and greek yogurt too, so as far as popsicles go these are pretty healthy. If you are a fan of creamsicles then you’re going to love these. 😋

DSC_0753.jpg

I know, I know, the ARE dipped in chocolate but there's a to of anti-oxidants in chocolate so again, healhty, right??? 😉

DSC_0751.jpg

Okay guys, I hope you all have a great day and enjoy something yummy.

DSC_0854.jpg

Sort:  

Oh yes, love the flavors. Recipe please! Looks refreshing. Coconut milk - interesting.

I'd be happy to share it with you @tesscooks4u! Thank you so much for all you awesome comments and kind words all the time!

Ingredients

3 large oranges, washed
1 cup Greek yogurt
1 cup full-fat coconut milk
1/3 cup sugar in the raw (aka turbinado sugar)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup (175g) Semi-sweet dark chocolate

Instructions

  1. Grate the orange peels to remove as much zest as possible then cut and use a juice squeezer to remove the juice. Pour juice and 1 teaspoon of zest into a blender or food processor with yogurt, coconut milk, sugar, and vanilla. 2. Blend until completely smooth then pour into popsicle molds and freeze for about 4 1/2 hours until solid.
    Melt chocolate in a double-boiler and dip pops. Sprinkle with zest if desired and serve immediately or store in an air-tight container in freezer until ready to serve.

Thanks so much for sharing the recipe! I'll try this for sure. Have a friend coming over for dinner next week who cannot have all sort of ingredients, but this she is allowed to eat.

damn it looks delicious, is it less sugar and calories?

I am sure it is @walterz. Thanks for commenting

Orange and chocolate is a wonderful combo! I don't care to admit how many orange filled chocolate bars I have eaten, lol!
These look so yummy. 😊

Ok, we won't count. Thanks @uglysweater

They look good!!👍👍😃

I am so glad you liked them @alovelymess. Do you like orange with your chocolate?

I do! It's the bestest thing ever! 👍👍👍👍😃

They look great! Can I ask for the recipe?
I hope your arm will be fully yours again soon!

Oh, how sweet of you @playfulfoodie! And of course you may have the recipe, it's up top!

Great! Thanks for pointing me to it :D

Mmmm these look good and for a treat fairly healthy with that Coconut milk going on instead of cream! Sucks having a cast on, I've broken 2 bones in my life and just hate it!! On the 7th July I am going into hospital again for a spine operation and will then be out of action for 7 weeks eeeek !! xx

So sorry to hear about the spine operation. Will you have free use of your hands? If so, you'll still be able to contribute to steemit.

I lost the full use of my left arm a few months back, so this operation should bring it back :-) . I have a 4 hour operation and then 5 nights in hospital, so I may disappear from Steemit for a week or so, but after that hopefully I'll be able to contribute. Not many people are looking at my posts at the moment, so I dare say no one will notice !! haha xxx

Thanks again for posting such beautiful food pictures. I really like this orange theme you have going. The color orange really pops out again in these pictures. The orange rind you added to the top of each popsicle is a really nice touch. :)

Thanks @rockjon and it smells amazing too, you must try!

Wow theselook fantastic! Love the contrast of the chocolate and the orange zest, yum ♥

Thanks so much @isshappy. I have been looking at your work and you definitely know how to take a pic

Thank you dear :) I'm working on a different (more pinteresty) style at the moment :p

Glad to hear you are getting better! These look simply amazing! My girlfriend and I were looking to try something similar whilst the weather was so hot here in the UK :)

Well I hope you can enjoy them @jhcooper7! Thanks for your kind wishes!

wow those look delicious. Do you have a recipe?

Yep, just shared it at the top of comments! Thanks for reading, girlfriend @flowerpowerart!!!

Thanks! We most have posted at the same time. haha. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65927.86
ETH 3481.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66